cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disabling wifi and using Ethernet .

Silentdav
Joining in

Hi, I'm not technical at all so apologies if is obvious / doesn't make sense!

So, I want to disable wifi on my hub 3.0 router. I want to only use Ethernet cables to access the internet (on 2 smart TVs and a games console essentially) - I'm living with someone who believes wifi is evil! 😆

I logged in to the router (using an Ethernet cable and laptop) and managed to disable the Wi-Fi but when I connected the other devices by Ethernet cables to the ports at the back of the router, only the cable linked to my laptop was working. I went into the settings on the TV but they were suggesting that no Ethernet cables were detected. I tried different ports with no luck. 

The router was not in modem mode. So, I guess I'm asking whether it's possible to do what I want to do and if so, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help!

11 REPLIES 11

Tudor
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Try a pin-hole reset of the hub and then disable WiFi again.

Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2

nodrogd
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Make sure you are just disabling Wi-Fi & not putting the hub into modem mode. You need it in router mode to use all the sockets.

VM 350BB 2xV6 & Landline. Freeview/Freesat HD, ASDA/Tesco PAYG Mobile. Cable customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Silentdav
Joining in

Thanks for the replies. Will try the reset tonight after work!

Client62
Legend

I'd change the SSID and the Password and just say the job is done. 
An SSID like BTxxxxxx or SKYxxxxxx might be enough to put the person off the scent.