cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New hub now blink doesn’t work

jimred
On our wavelength

i need some help please, i renewed my contract and i received a new hub which i fitted today, all seem to be working but my blink system wont connect despite putting in the correct password, it was working fine with the old router.

my laptop ipad and alexa are all working fine, spoke to Blink its a router problem but Virgin are so unhelpful all i want to do is go back to my router but apparently they cant do that!

i have been cut off twice and been on the phone over a hour…..please help also i am not very technical-understatement!

why is nothing straightforward with them they must know people contact blink to the hubs, its always scary upgrading!

thanks

james

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

What Hub did you have and what Hub do you have now?

I am guessing the Blink system only connects on the 2.4 GHz frequency wifi band and not the 5 GHz one - do you know if that's correct?  If so the single SSID for the new Hub (combines both frequencies )  may be "confusing" the Blink.

One thing to try first is to log into the Hub settings and click the box to "disable" the 5GHz wifi - save and restart and see if the Blink can then connect to the remaining 2.4 GHz band .  If it does - go back in an re-enable the 5GHz band to allow faster connections on the other equipment.

If not report back

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired, 2 on WiFi) Hub5 in modem mode with Apple Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's & TP-Link Archer C64 WAP. On Volt 350Mbps, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

22 REPLIES 22

jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

What Hub did you have and what Hub do you have now?