cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opening port 44158

Emma4041
Tuning in

Can someone please please help? I am trying to open port 44158 for my Bobcat helium miner. I work in IT so (as far as I'm aware) have tried everything. I have even been on the phone with level 2 Virgin media IT team for 3 hours. I have tried unblocking my IP address from spamhaus.com but I can't as it says my ISP has to do that (VM say they can't).

How on earth do I get port 44158 to stay open? I have a Hub3. Many thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@Emma4041 wrote:

Great, really appreciate your advice. I will try all the options you have suggested when I finish work. I will of course update this thread. I'm using a Bobcat HNT miner to add to the People's Network, you get paid for it in HNT crypto. A mining box can make anywhere up to £500-600 a month so it's worth it.

Understood - I get it and would look to build my own, or at least from a RAK module if I wished to.

See the latest links I've sent you and this one which is referenced in the other webpages:

https://www.robertputt.co.uk/helium-hnt-fixing-relayed-hotspots/

If you follow those, with port forwarding, as I've said, it should sort it for you. 

It helps to have an understanding of NAT and how, because this is incoming, not just outgoing, traffic to your router, you need those rules set.  You need to tell your router (the hub 3) where to send the traffic - it can't just guess!  I'd have the hub firewall on as I said earlier - don't run without a firewall!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

40 REPLIES 40

jem101
Superstar