cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Long established @ntlworld.com email address suddenly disappeared

treads100
Tuning in

I am currently unable to access my Virgin Media account online by logging in with my primary @ntlworld.com email address and password.

When I contacted customer support, I was told that the email address does not exist even though I have been using this for many years.  They could not resolve the issue and said the ‘tech’ team would contact me within 5 days.  I have had two calls but missed both – not easy to always be able to take a call without a more specific time slot.

I can still access emails for this (non-existent) address via Outlook!

Thought I’d post here to see if anyone can help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

coenoby
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@treads100 

If that email account is the Primary Account for your current active VM Broadband Account something odd is going on.

What error message do you get when you try to access the account, is it  "Your email or password was incorrect" ?

It may seem strange, but the fact you can still access the account via Outlook does suggest that the email account may be at least in the course of being deleted by VM. 

Previous experience on the forum suggests that when VM delete an email account their process starts with removing access to the Webmail account.

However, there is then a period when the mailbox is still active so emails can be sent to the address and you can still manage the account via  email clients such as Outlook. The reason for that is because email clients such as Outlook effectively access the mailbox directly rather via the webmail account.

I think this is definitely going to need VM resolve what's happened.

Because of that I have escalated this to the VM Forum Team (VM employees) and one of them should be contacting you later today.

Coenoby