Menu
Reply
  • 43
  • 0
  • 12
clubsceneuk2
On our wavelength
267 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Internet problem - Slow Speeds

On Friday 08 Feb I had my broadband speed upgraded to give me the 350mb performance. Since I have done this I seem to have lost speed rather than gained.

When I was on 200mb I was getting an average of 216mb however I now get less that 205 on most speed tests. The only thing that has changed is the upload speed.

I have rebooted both the modem and the hub I have attached but nothing has helped.

Additional specs below

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
306750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1306750000-0.738256 qam22
2322750000-0.540256 qam24
3314750000-0.540256 qam23
4298750000-138256 qam21
5290750000-1.540256 qam20
6282750000-238256 qam19
7274750000-2.438256 qam18
8266750000-2.538256 qam17
9258750000-2.938256 qam16
10250750000-3.238256 qam15
11242750000-3.238256 qam14
12234750000-3.238256 qam13
13226750000-3.238256 qam12
14218750000-338256 qam11
15210750000-338256 qam10
16202750000-338256 qam9
17194750000-2.738256 qam8
18186750000-2.738256 qam7
19178750000-2.738256 qam6
20170750000-2.438256 qam5
21162750000-2.438256 qam4
22154750000-2.438256 qam3
23146750000-2.538256 qam2
24138750000-2.538256 qam1


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000043.8512064 qam1
22580000039.8512064 qam4
33260000041.3512064 qam3
43940000042.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
34ncxv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.i



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID24932
Max Traffic Rate402500000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID24931
Max Traffic Rate22010000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

2019-02-08 22:40:03.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-07 15:54:43.00Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2019-02-07 00:42:06.00criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.72K
  • 627
  • 893
jbrennand
Hero
262 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Nothing obviously amiss (to me) in those numbers. Can you do a test as per below and report back what that shows.
Make sure your device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat5e/6a ethernet cable to connect it to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Then, boot up your device into "safe mode" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds) and run the test at speedtest.net on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, etc).

--------------------
Services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.18K
  • 923
  • 2.67K
Superuser
Superuser
262 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

levels look good - how are you testing wired or wireless

you are in modem mode i guess so try a test with a pc connected to the hub rather than your router - run the pc in safe mode with networking

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 43
  • 0
  • 12
clubsceneuk2
On our wavelength
260 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Just reading another forum and it advises this may be important too

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.960
2Locked40.340
3Locked40.3120
4Locked38.9160
5Locked40.360
6Locked38.9110
7Locked38.990
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.980
10Locked38.9100
11Locked38.9150
12Locked38.980
13Locked38.980
14Locked38.690
15Locked38.6110
16Locked38.6180
17Locked38.9180
18Locked38.6790
19Locked38.62021
20Locked38.91440
21Locked38.91080
22Locked38.61600
23Locked38.6650
24Locked38.6660
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 43
  • 0
  • 12
clubsceneuk2
On our wavelength
257 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Hi Tony

Thanks for the reply. Im in wired mode. What I find amusing is that the speed is now slower than before even though its ment to be faster. when I had 200mb I got 216 average yet im not supposed to get 350 and get

Ping ms
9
Download Mbps
195.05
 
Upload Mbps
20.53
(taken from speedtest.net)
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 43
  • 0
  • 12
clubsceneuk2
On our wavelength
253 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Thanks for the reply

I have done various tests wired and wifi. On wired I have used Firefox, IE 11 and Edge. All giving me the same kind of results.

I have tried on Ipad, iPhone and wifi via laptop. Still the same.

Im hoping this is something simple.

Going to try removing and reinstalling the nic driver and see what happens.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.18K
  • 923
  • 2.67K
Superuser
Superuser
251 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

other levels are fine

have you tested direct to the hub in safe mode taking your router out of the equation - keep the hub in modem mode 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.32K
  • 278
  • 588
Forum Team (Retired) Emma_E
Forum Team (Retired)
184 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Hi clubsceneuk2,

Thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry to see you have had trouble with your connection.

 

I have taken a look and things seem to be ok from this side. It may help to try the following so we can rule some things out:

Pop the hub into Modem Mode with the computer in Safe Mode with Networking at different times of the day.

Try on separate devices.

Check Ethernet cable. Make sure it is new / up to date. (Cat 5e or above).

Make sure device is capable of agreed speed.

Check wireless card slide.

Take care.

 Emma


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 43
  • 0
  • 12
clubsceneuk2
On our wavelength
170 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet problem - Slow Speeds

Morning All/ 

I took tonys advise but instead of safe mode, i dropped the modem out of modem mode and used it in router mode. I got some amazing speeds which showed the issue was with my TP link. 

I have since re established the TP link to the hub and am now getting better speeds. Still not full bore but much better than i was getting previously. 

Its a shame the superhub isnt up to scratch and would allow the user to amend settings as needed for IPs etc. If this was the case then i would have no need for the TP link router.

0 Kudos
Reply