Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
184 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

WiFi Issues

Hi Guys

Really need some guidance here! Let me begin by explaining my home setup...............

SuperHub 3 Router in an upstairs office with computer etc etc.

Two Echo devices in upstairs bedrooms.

Two Echo devices in downstairs rooms.

Samsung Q90 QLED Smart TV in downstairs room connected to WiFi via 'Smart Things' Ap

Up until a week ago all was well within the household. But then, about a week ago when I tried to control the TV via Echo device (Alexa TV on) the Echo reported that the TV was not connected to WiFi? In order to sort this I disconnected the hardwire Lan connecting cable from the back of the Virgin Media TV box (which connects to the Router via Netgear WiFi extenders) and connected it directly into the TV. No difference!

Ive spoken with Virgin technical on two occasions now, first said they could detect issues but it would be sorted by a pin reset of the router, it wasn't. Second call again said they could see issues and It 'could be' the Netgear extenders at fault as my WiFi speed downstairs is only 10-15mbps whilst upstairs its 112mbps. New extenders ordered.

Ive logged into my router settings via my PC and ran a diagnostic of my WiFI. It comes back with faults! Strangely the system doesn't tell you what the faults are 😞

Before anyone says it, I fully appreciate that my Router is not in an ideal place (upstairs) but a needs must at the time. It needed to be as close to the Mac as was possible.

Sorry for the lengthy question but any advice would be most welcome before I have to ring Virgin Technical again.

Thanks Guys 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 21.69K
  • 1.18K
  • 2.79K
Alessandro Volta
175 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

Invest in a decent standalone router or look into a mesh system or installing some wired AP’s


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
172 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

Thanks for your response Gary, sadly that lot has gone straight over my head 😞

1. If I were to invest in a standalone Router would I have to put the VM Router in 'Modem Mode'?

2. A 'Mesh System'? Again I apologise for being thick but would a mesh system be something like 'Zigbee'? If so I have that with the Echo Studio.

3. What are AP's?

Sorry

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 21.69K
  • 1.18K
  • 2.79K
Alessandro Volta
157 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

OK.

First things first - what Virgin hun do you currently have?

To answer your questions:

1. Yes, that's correct

2. A mesh system like BT Whole Home. Zigbee is used for connecting smart devices like lightbulbs, switches, thermostats etc.

3. Access Points. Like Ubiquiti's

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
154 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

Once again, thanks for your response.

Im currently using the standard VM V3 Router with Netgear WiFi extenders. I do however feel that the Router is at fault. Ive also noted that my email signal keeps dropping out:-(

Since your first response to my question I've looked at 'Mesh' systems and come across the Samsung Smart things Mesh so that now makes sense. I like the sound of that but surely any Mesh system still relies on the VM Router as a Modem, if that's dodgy then the whole system falls over.

As for access points, I've still no idea 🙂

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 21.69K
  • 1.18K
  • 2.79K
Alessandro Volta
149 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

It depends if it's a cicruit issue or a "wifi" issue.

Posting some logs might help as well - go to 192.168.0.1 in a browser, don't login, click the link beneath the login box and copy/paste back the Network, Upstream and Downstream logs.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
142 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

NetworTimePriorityDescription27/04/2020 11:25:50Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;27/04/2020 07:26:17noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;27/04/2020 01:18:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;26/04/2020 14:14:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;26/04/2020 12:52:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;26/04/2020 08:26:55noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/04/2020 18:42:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/04/2020 15:56:23noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;24/04/2020 21:38:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 19:15:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 19:09:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 19:06:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 19:06:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 19:06:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 07:11:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/04/2020 05:08:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;22/04/2020 10:17:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/04/2020 09:23:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;20/04/2020 17:18:51noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;20/04/2020 17:18:51ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
141 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

Upstrea

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1325999914.9512064 qam5
2394000005512064 qam4
3461999984.95512064 qam3
4537000005.05512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
140 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Issues

Downstrea

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1419000000-3.238256 qam32
2203000000-0.238256 qam9
3211000000-0.538256 qam10
4219000000-0.738256 qam11
5227000000-0.938256 qam12
6235000000-1.238256 qam13
7243000000-1.538256 qam14
8251000000-1.538256 qam15
9259000000-1.738256 qam16
10267000000-239256 qam17
11275000000-2.238256 qam18
12283000000-2.438256 qam19
13291000000-2.538256 qam20
14299000000-2.538256 qam21
15307000000-2.740256 qam22
16315000000-2.738256 qam23
17323000000-2.538256 qam24
18363000000-2.738256 qam25
19371000000-2.938256 qam26
20379000000-338256 qam27
21387000000-338256 qam28
22395000000-2.938256 qam29
23403000000-338256 qam30
24411000000-338256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.920
2Locked38.94940
3Locked38.95670
4Locked38.66470
5Locked38.66631
6Locked38.65684
7Locked38.94261
8Locked38.92560
9Locked38.91350
10Locked39.3450
11Locked38.9330
12Locked38.9390
13Locked38.9350
14Locked38.9320
15Locked40.3320
16Locked38.9330
17Locked38.9180
18Locked38.980
19Locked38.9100
20Locked38.990
21Locked38.990
22Locked38.9180
23Locked38.680
24Locked38.980

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 21.69K
  • 1.18K
  • 2.79K
Alessandro Volta
137 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: WiFi Issues

The upstream levels there are on the high side, so you will need an engineer visit to resolve.

However, whether this fixes the wifi range or not is another issue, as we cannot ascertain whether it's just wifi dropping or the entire connection.

Do the lights change on the hub when you get devices dropping off?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi