cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot get IP address ..continued

parmenion
Joining in

Hi, 

Im getting the same issue the other guy had whereas devices on my Wifi are unable to obtain an IP address.

I work in IT and it makes no sense why it doesn't work so my question becomes how do I clear the DHCP leases manually? when i change the lease times to one hour the existing leases ones dont clear - so can i do this manually?

This will tell me if the issue I have is DHCP related.

Next question : can I turn off mac address filtering completely - to enable me to diagnose. There doesnt appear to be an option to do that, only on all the time or during a period specified. 

As mentioned I work in IT so please don't just tell me to factory reboot , I change the SSID's and all default passwords so its a pain to keep having to change the settings back. 

The guest Wifi works fine BTW - its only the devices that try and join the none GUEST SSID - I use different ones for 2.4 and 5 and guest.

If the device needs new firmware PLEASE UPDATE IT - many users are using this old crap device. Support it.

INCLUDING ADDING WPA3!!!!! WPA2 is rubbish.

14 REPLIES 14

Adduxi
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

Which Hub are you using?  Are you using the Connect app for admin?  If so I would advise against this, and recommend using the admin console on the Hub via a wired connection.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Tudor
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

If it’s a hub5 there are DHCP issue with that model. I’ve seen of the board that sometimes a pin-hole reset of the hub fixes it for awhile. Also seen one report that the latest, possibly trial, firmware for the hub fixes it.

Tudor