cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VPN capable router to replace Hub 3?

Malawi89
Tuning in

Pretty much as the title says. I'm looking to replace the hub 3 as I'm tired of the terrible connection. So want to put it in modem mode and get my own. I use a VPN (windscribe) on my laptop but like the idea of putting it on my router to provide umbrella coverage, although haven't looked too closely into what that entails. I live in a relatively compact, modern 4 bedroom house and could put the router in a central location, so not sure that mesh is necessary. Happy if mesh is the recommendation but don't really feel like connecting the units by ethernet if that's necessary (I'm a mesh noob).

Preferred budget is 100-150, but could go higher if that's unrealistic and will save me pain down the line to go higher

Anyone got any suggestions?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

jpeg1
Alessandro Volta

Client62 is perhaps being slightly controversial in places 🙂 but I won't argue that here.

What I will say is that if you run the VPN on your router then every device on your network will be forced to use it. Some of those devices will be using services that block VPN access. If you definitely want to use a VPN then it's best to run it on the specific devices that really need it. 

- jpeg1
My name is NOT Alessandro. That's just a tag Virginmedia sticks on some contributors. Please ignore it.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

8 REPLIES 8

Client62
Legend

Suggesting a VPN will improve a "terrible connection" is utter nonsense.

Use of any Generic VPN will degrade the speed / latency / jitter of the connection
and quite needlessly shares all your web activity at the VPN's exit point.

What it does not do is provide additional security or any improvement in privacy.

jpeg1
Alessandro Volta

Client62 is perhaps being slightly controversial in places 🙂 but I won't argue that here.