cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apps are Frustratingly Slow to Start

winegums
On our wavelength

I’m not technically minded but I’ve got a TiVo box with 200 mbps broadband.

my grandchildren like to watch things on YouTube and Netflix and they are frustratingly slow to load and sometimes time-out.  My granddaughter wanted to watch Gabbys Dollhouse on YouTube so I clicked on it and made a cup of coffee before YouTube loaded. Then when searching I had to wait at least 30 seconds between each letter. It took over 15 minutes to load YouTube and then get search results for Gabbys Dollhouse. Surely that’s not right? My tv is a brand new smart tv with only the home cctv recorder and TiVo box plugged into it. 
Any advice would be much appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

The legacy TiVo box was first launched in 2010, it was never known for its speed with streaming apps but is now elderly and is being actively withdrawn. The newer V6 runs the same software but on much newer hardware - it's far quicker, has more recording tuners and many more apps than the older TiVo.

Be very aware of any sales pitch for the alternative TV360, it runs on the same box as the V6 but is very different software and fundamentally not TiVo. It is as different to TiVo as Android is to Apple - but is often badged as an upgrade in VM sales patter.

The TiVo has its own inbuilt modem and doesn't use your home broadband, unlike the V6/TV360 which rely on a connection via your home-hub for all the online functionality.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

6 REPLIES 6

japitts
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person