cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virgin Blocking Access to my website

alandeller
Tuning in

I am a web designer and having just finished a website and published it, I am now unable to access it via Virgin Media directly.

I built the site directly on the server using by updating my Hosts file to target the specific IP address of the server (as the domain had not fully propagated). When the website was complete, I turned off the Host file redirect and was using the site's domain to access the site, this is now not possible via Virgin Media.

I can access the site using my mobile network - both on the phone and using it to tether my Mac. I can also access it by deploying a VPN. But I can not access it using my laptop/phone on my wifi network.  

I have checked the wifi set-up (I am using Deco mesh network), there is nothing blocking it there. I have been in contact with my website's hosting provider and they are not blocking the site. They have checked their firewalls on the Plesk server and there are no blocks to my IP address and suggest that the block is coming from my ISP's side (Virgin), blocking me from accessing the server.

I don't have any parental controls set-up, though I have added it to the Child Safe - allowed website list (in hope that might work) but with no change in access.

No device on the wifi at home can connect to this domain directly through Virgin Media.

The website that is not accessible to me is: https://inflectionconsulting.co.uk/

Any suggestions for help to address this would be much appreciated.

Thanks

17 REPLIES 17

alandeller
Tuning in

I haven't had - I did turn it on today and added the website domain to the Allowed Websites, to see if that made any difference, sadly not. I have not idea if this needs time to propagate. Also, I think Virgin have a specific screen for banned sites, not just a DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN type error message.

Client62
Legend