cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Landline number not ported!

Mwnisar
Tuning in

I recently ordered a package phone and broadband at the start of January. I was told it will take 7 days to port my landline number from Vodafone. So i took the 12th January as my installation date. I made the lady aware that i use my landline for my business and it is diverted to my mobile as i am a sole trader.

On the 12th January, i got my broadband hub through the post. The broadband was up and running but they had given me a new number. I rung virgin again and asked what was going on. THEY HAD NOT EVEN REQUESTED TO PORT THE NUMBER FROM VODAFONE OR EVEN TAKING OVER THERE BROADBAND SO I HAD 2 PACKAGES NOW. She then requested the port from vodafone and to take over my services from them. I was told this would be completed on the 22nd January (today).

Today morning i called myself from the virgin landline and it called my number from the number i was porting so i thought all good. I rung virgin to activate my call divert and when she asked me for my number, i gave my number that was ported and she said thats not the right one. THE NEW NUMBER FROM VIRGIN WAS BACK ON FOR SOME REASON. I called myself again from my virgin landline and it was the new number from virgin and not the number that was meant to be ported (although this was not the case a few hours earlier).

Now they are investigating what is going on and my number that should have been ported shows as "number not valid" when i try calling it.

What could have gone wrong? I CANNOT afford to lose my number and i am now losing business due to this problem. Any help would be much appreciated as i need this sorting out ASAP.

17 REPLIES 17

A bit of an update. I have sent the formal complaint.