Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 1 of 10 (144 Views)

Travel pass question

HI, currently a PAYG customer, travel a lot in Europe, tried travel pass, didn't work for some reason, was just wondering if I moved to a monthly contract would I still need a travel pass in Europe? Looking for best way to use Internet whilst travelling really. Thanks 

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Knows their stuff
  • 1.29K
  • 165
  • 332
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 2 of 10 (266 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
a week ago

Re: Travel pass question

Knows their stuff
  • 1.29K
  • 165
  • 332
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 4 of 10 (251 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
a week ago

Re: Travel pass question

I travel to Europe twice a year, never trusted Virgin on roaming. I'm with a certain other network that lets me use my allowance in a lot of countries as if I were at home.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Forum Team
  • 4.68K
  • 151
  • 355
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 8 of 10 (118 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
Wednesday

Re: Travel pass question

Hi Purplejosh7,

Use the default and MMS option for the APN type. Please let me know how this goes for you.

 

Thanks,

Terri

Virgin Media Forum Team


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Knows their stuff
  • 1.29K
  • 165
  • 332
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 2 of 10 (267 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
a week ago

Re: Travel pass question

I believe you do. 

On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 3 of 10 (130 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Thanks, for bought the hat might be so.
Reply
0 Kudos
Knows their stuff
  • 1.29K
  • 165
  • 332
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
Message 4 of 10 (252 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
a week ago

Re: Travel pass question

I travel to Europe twice a year, never trusted Virgin on roaming. I'm with a certain other network that lets me use my allowance in a lot of countries as if I were at home.

On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 5 of 10 (122 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Thank you.
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 4.68K
  • 151
  • 355
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 6 of 10 (89 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Hi Purplejosh7,

APN settings as per previous post: Help! Need apn for htc one m8

Name — Virgin Media Mobile Internet

APN — goto.virginmobile.uk

Proxy — Not Set

Port — Not Set

Username — user

Password — Not Set

Server — Not Set

 

MMSC — http://mms.virginmobile.co.uk:8002

MMS proxy — 193.030.166.002

MMS port — 8080

MCC — 234

MNC — 30

Authentication type — PAP

APN type — internet + mms

 

Please let me know how this goes.

 

Kind regards,

Terri

Virgin Media Forum Team


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 7 of 10 (76 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Thank you Terri, I have put the settings Into my phone, when I have a signal will see if it works. 

Just. Question - on APN type, I don't have an internet option, should I tick default and Mms or leave it blank?

my options on the APN type are

default, mms, supl, wap, net, dun, ia, rcs, xcap.

i have no idea what most of these mean!

 

thanks

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 4.68K
  • 151
  • 355
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 8 of 10 (119 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Purplejosh7
Wednesday

Re: Travel pass question

Hi Purplejosh7,

Use the default and MMS option for the APN type. Please let me know how this goes for you.

 

Thanks,

Terri

Virgin Media Forum Team


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 9 of 10 (36 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Hi Terri, well I can use the new settings for outgoing but for some reason I cannot receive incoming calls or texts. I must have something wrong or missing in the settings. I have had family testing for me, they are receiving my calls and texts but i am not receiving their replies. Can I have misssed something maybe?mi have checked th sertis and they are exactly as you advised. 

thanks

Paula

Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-12-2012
Message 10 of 10 (21 Views)

Re: Travel pass question

Hi Terri, I think I have solved the problem, I added the supl in APN type and it appears to be working ok now.  I will let you know if I have any problems. 

Thanks for your help

Reply
0 Kudos