Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2016
Message 1 of 12 (262 Views)

Revised SuperHub 3

Why doesn't Virgin Media release a revised SuperHub 3 but with a different chip inside instead of that Puma one? You can then offer customers a replacement free of charge if they are not happy with the SuperHub 3.0...

 

Genius, right?


Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 336
  • 14
  • 120
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 7 of 12 (464 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by eddiestrike
2 weeks ago

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

[ Edited ]

Actually there are not so many DOCSIS 3.0 chipsets.

Basically you only have two alternatives - from Intel (Puma) and from Broadcom.

However, Broadcom chips are currently banned in Europe (or maybe Germany) due to court ruling (Broadcom lost infringement case). Considering that Liberty Global (who is now owns Virgin) wants to have single gateway device shared by all subsidiaries, and they have plenty in Germany and Europe - this leaves Puma only chipset choice.

 

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Superuser
  • 21.29K
  • 746
  • 3.04K
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 2 of 12 (257 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

who would pay the Millions for the devolopment work? who would pay for the millions lost int eh swap. Guessing not you?

Who would moan next year when the price of services goes up by £20 to cover this. Oh wait that will be you Smiley Happy
On our wavelength
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2016
Message 3 of 12 (253 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

[ Edited ]

Right, because a few million £ is such a lot of money for a company like Virgin media who have a monopoly ISP in the UK while also dominating in many other industries.

Customer service goes a long way and will earn them even more in the long run if they fix the SH3.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 21.29K
  • 746
  • 3.04K
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
Message 4 of 12 (243 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

but vm do not make the SH3 so you could be meaning to Netgear to fix the hardware. Currently, netgear are the only people that make the hardware required AFAIK
Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 336
  • 14
  • 120
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 5 of 12 (240 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

SH3 is made by Arris.

SH2/SH2AC was made by Netgear.

 

On our wavelength
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2016
Message 6 of 12 (239 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

There are hundreds of potential chips to use inside a router, all they have to do is request a new one be made using something other than a Puma.

Everything else including the router software can be left alone. Not expensive.
Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 336
  • 14
  • 120
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 7 of 12 (465 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by eddiestrike
2 weeks ago

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

[ Edited ]

Actually there are not so many DOCSIS 3.0 chipsets.

Basically you only have two alternatives - from Intel (Puma) and from Broadcom.

However, Broadcom chips are currently banned in Europe (or maybe Germany) due to court ruling (Broadcom lost infringement case). Considering that Liberty Global (who is now owns Virgin) wants to have single gateway device shared by all subsidiaries, and they have plenty in Germany and Europe - this leaves Puma only chipset choice.

 

Fibre optic
  • 283
  • 9
  • 37
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 8 of 12 (163 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

How are VM a monopoly ISP. I am a VM customer but can easily switch to BT, Sky, TalkTalk etc. if I want to.

JohnD
Strangely strange but oddly normal.
Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2016
Message 9 of 12 (161 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

They own the majority of the TV and internet subscription services?

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 283
  • 9
  • 37
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 10 of 12 (159 Views)

Re: Revised SuperHub 3

Don know where you get that information from so lets just agree to disagree :-)

JohnD
Strangely strange but oddly normal.