Menu
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 11
Matt8655
On our wavelength
749 Views
Message 1 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Where now??

Im at a loss at to what the hell to do now apart from go back to BT, I have been a VM customer for 3 years and have always enjoyed good speeds as my package was upgraded, 120 plus, 150 plus and now 200 plus. Then around 3 months ago we started to see speeds drop to anything, sometimes it was less than 1 mb other times 50 mb and rarely 200mb. VM excuses have ranged from firstly I have too many devices connected (1 x mobile phone, 1x wife's laptop and 1x sky box) and as a result of these offending items the 83mb I was getting at the time of my call "was a really good speed and I should be happy with it", after 10 minutes of actually arguing with the lady she relented and asked to remote look at my PC, after 10 minutes of her looking around in there she came up with the "ahhh your pc wont handle anymore than 100mb on the wireless card, that's why" again I patiently explained to her my pc is connected via an Ethernet cable and ive always for 3 years had over 100mb to which she replied " that must of been a glitch"!! she eventually transferred me to someone who had an engineer out to my home and changed the hub and buggered off telling my wife he had conducted a speed test at my pc and got 200mb, when I told him this was strange because id forgotten to leave him my password he said hed got me mixed up with another customer bless him. To date I have had 3 visits, 3 new hubs (SuperHub 3) and the problem still persists, nothing my end has changed at all, I have changed the Ethernet cable just in case, my speed test just measures 42mb so im a bit cross im paying for 200. Numerous calls to the unhelpful centre all end in either someone telling me its all my fault or simply booking an engineer, which to be honest none have inspired me so far.

Anyone got any ideas? 

"USUALLY HAS NO CLUE WHAT HES ON ABOUT BUT IS SO HAPPY TO BE HERE Smiley Happy"
  • 2.62K
  • 209
  • 799
Dave_cq
Trouble shooter
738 Views
Message 2 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Sounds like the usual VM problem ... too many customers signed up and too little infrastructure to support them.

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 11
Matt8655
On our wavelength
731 Views
Message 3 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Is there a way I can find out if my area has utilisation problems, according to the 3 people if asked at VM my area Is no where near capacity
"USUALLY HAS NO CLUE WHAT HES ON ABOUT BUT IS SO HAPPY TO BE HERE Smiley Happy"
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
711 Views
Message 4 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

A VM Forum Team member should pick up the thread in about a week and will give you a definetive answer. The Offshore Support center is usless and most of the things they say can be taken with a pinch of salt.

I would test the connection with a device equipped with a gigabit ethernet adapter connected directly to the hub by Cat 5e ethernet cable or better and test the speeds during the day and again during evening peak times. If you get headline speeds during the day and poor speeds during the evening, then it is a contention issue. If speeds are poor all the time then it looks like a technical issue.

You can always start a Broadband Quality Monitor, here. This will show up any contention issues. You will need to enable Respond to ICMP Echo Requests in the Hub's GUI first or disable the firewall if you have a Hub 3

  • 46
  • 0
  • 11
Matt8655
On our wavelength
703 Views
Message 5 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Ive checked my adapter on the pc (I think) and it shows the adapter capable of upto 1gb but not sure if thats what you mean, the speed tests are all over the place day and night. This morning at 7am I had 18mb, about half anhour ago I got 130mb right off and a ping of 5, the speed test rocketed to 130 then steadily dropped so by the end of the test I got 33mb with the graph looking like a mountain range, its so frustrating
"USUALLY HAS NO CLUE WHAT HES ON ABOUT BUT IS SO HAPPY TO BE HERE Smiley Happy"
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 77
  • 1
  • 5
rwbarrett
On our wavelength
875 Views
Message 6 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

go to Thinkbroadband.com/ping and set up a monitor with your current ip address (don't worry it shouldn't change on VM very often so set it up with whatever your ip address is now ). go to www.whatsmyip.org if you're not sure how to find it.

 

Leave the monitor running and after a few days you might start to see when "utilisation" problems occur as latency increases at certain times of the day or packet loss occurs. That will help you prove to VM that its not your pc as its only measuring between the thinkbroadband servers and your VM hub. Its not a foolproof measure of what's going on but its a start and will prove if the problem is outside of your home network.

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 509
  • 19
  • 171
Bartman007
Fibre optic
696 Views
Message 7 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Make a formal complaint with VM, after 8 weeks if its not resolved take it to CISAS, follow my simple guide to make it easier, I see you have most of the evidence to make a case with CISAS.

Hit them in their pocket not yours.

Good luck

 

Regards






----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------




All the information I provide is available on Google Search, I just make it simple for you Smiley Happy
  • 46
  • 0
  • 11
Matt8655
On our wavelength
682 Views
Message 8 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Thank you, I think I will too, im still a little peeved about the lady arguing with me about it to be honest, it was shocking from a customer service dept, I might not be an expert but to try and fob me off with 83mb is a good speed that I should be happy with takes the p
"USUALLY HAS NO CLUE WHAT HES ON ABOUT BUT IS SO HAPPY TO BE HERE Smiley Happy"
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
671 Views
Message 9 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

With rapidly fluctuating speeds it may be worth trying another ethernet cable, they can go bad.

Posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 46
  • 0
  • 11
Matt8655
On our wavelength
576 Views
Message 10 of 51
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where now??

Well I hope that lot makes sense to you lol

Downstream bonded channelsChannelFrequency(Hz)Power
(dBmV)SNR
(dB)ModulationChannel ID12990000004.138.9256 qam10323230000004.640.3256 qam10633150000004.640.3256 qam10543070000004.440.3256 qam10452910000003.740.3256 qam10262830000003.438.9256 qam1017275000000338.9256 qam10082670000002.938.6256 qam9992590000002.738.9256 qam98102510000002.940.3256 qam97

Channel IDFrequency(Hz)ModePower
(dBmV)ModulationChannel Bandwidth(Hz)Symbol Rate (ksps)530200000ATDMA4016 qam64000005120623600000ATDMA4016 qam64000005120436800000ATDMA4016 qam64000005120

Date And TimeError NumberEvent Description1970-01-01 00:01:30.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:30.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:44.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:02:46.0068000100DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:04:11.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:04:11.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:04:25.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:05:31.0068000100DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:30.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:30.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:44.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:28.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 00:01:28.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-23 13:29:29.0069010200SW Download INIT - Via Config file2016-12-23 13:38:40.0069011200SW download Successful - Via Config file2016-12-31 00:40:53.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-01 02:09:00.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

"USUALLY HAS NO CLUE WHAT HES ON ABOUT BUT IS SO HAPPY TO BE HERE Smiley Happy"
0 Kudos
Reply