Menu
andrewglass3
Tuning in
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Improvement Works Moortown Area Leeds Yesterday - Speed Worse!

Hey guys

So I use my hub3 in modem mode, I am also on the homeworks+ 300Mbps package.

Yesterday virgin carried out so called improvement works in the area.  Since then during none peak times my speed has dropped for close to 300Mbs down 20 up to an avg of 80Mbps down and 20 up.  Last night during peak time I only got 8Mbps down and 3 up.

This is horrendous!

Ive tried restarting all my equipment, nothing inside my home has changed.

Please help, as a Linux systems engineer I sometimes have to work from home and these speeds are unbearable.

Cheers

Andrew

0 Kudos
andrewglass3
Tuning in
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Improvement Works Moortown Area Leeds Yesterday - Speed Worse!

So an engineer has been tasked with coming out on Sunday between 12 and 4pm. Lets hope they can fix it.

0 Kudos
andrewglass3
Tuning in
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

The engineer came out and said your signal levels are fine.

Theres nothing I can do.  So what I dont understand is, prior to the "improvement works" on January 12th my speeds during offpeak hours were 280 to 308 down and 17 to 20Mbps up.

Now Im lucky to hit 140Mbps down!  Im really unhappy with the level of service virgin are providing.  Im paying £82 a month for my tv which has nothing of interest on and the 300 Mbps Homeworks package as I have to work from home quite often.

I would like something done about this please.  I would like the engineers to revist whatever cabinet/s they were at on the morning of the 12th (my connection went down at 0930 - (I received my first email alert from my remote server that my access points were down at 0934) and check the work they have performed as they have done something wrong.

Why pay for the top tier of service when I am bearly getting the 100Mbps service?

Thanks for your help.

Andrew

0 Kudos
andrewglass3
Tuning in