Menu
Daness88
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Very slow streaming

Hello,

I'm new to Virgin broadband service, recently got the 100mbps fibre.
I have noticed that the streaming is very slow on all of my devices , even the Facebook videos are loading very slowly and buffer all the time.
I have tried Speedtest and it shows different results on different devices. On my iPhone it goes over 100mbps , on my laptop only about 50 Mbps but I still get a lot of buffering . I tried modem mode and used my old router and I got the same results . Does anyone else have the same problem or does anyone know how to deal with this? I hope is some setting on the router that could hopefully sort things out. Few months ago I gave up 40mbps connection from TalkTalk which to be honest performed a lot better , never had buffering issues throughout the 2 years contract ... I guess I should've never left TalkTalk but the Virgins offer sounded better with better speeds at same price.
Any suggestions would be well appreciated.

Many thanks ,

Daniel
0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow streaming

Hi Daness88, 

Thanks for getting in touch, I am sorry to see you have been having trouble with your connection. 

I have taken a look and it seems there was an issue with SNR and FECS (Signal to Noise Ratio and Forward Error corrections) in your area recently, this seems to have improved over the past few days and the connection is now looking healthier. 

How are things looking from your side now? 

If you are still having trouble let us know and we'll be able to take a further look into this for you. 

All the best

Emma

New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide

0 Kudos
Daness88
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hi Emma,

The situation hasn't changed . Slow streaming but speedtest shows at least 50mbps connection.