Menu
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
466 Views
Message 1 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Hi all hope your all well.

This is my first post on here, we had virgin media fitted alomost 2 month ago and went for the vivd 200 package.

from day one we have had no broadband speed higher than 54mg

I have phoned virgin media 10 times over the last 2 weeks trying to get it sorted but I know feel that im just being fobbed off due to the face that 2 of the times I phone the guy on the phone said to me, ive just changed some of your setting and that should now sort it. what P%@sed me of the most was the fact that at no point did the guy ask who i was, where i lived, account number or password but yet was able to change my settings and I phone them from my work mobile.

I really feel let down by virgin media and will not be using them for the remote sites my company have as i no longer have any trust with virgin media.

has anyone else had or got this issue??

I work from home alot and the only resion we went for virgin was due to the 200mg download.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
461 Views
Message 2 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, also around 50Mbps is a common max wireless speed of a lot of devices, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

Are you seeing slow speeds all day or only at peak times (typically 4pm-11pm weekdays and weekends)?

If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screen shots if that is easier.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread in a few days (current response times are unfortunately about a week) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
455 Views
Message 3 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Hi Scott

all connections are wired and when i do a speed test i unplug everything from it and change the wifi password so any wireless device is isconnected and tested the speed at differant time of the day and night.

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID

1322750000-436.3256 qam16
2314750000-4.236.3256 qam15
3306750000-4.236.3256 qam14
4298750000-4.235.7256 qam13
5290750000-4.536.3256 qam12
6282750000-4.736.3256 qam11
7274750000-4.736.3256 qam10
8266750000-4.535.7256 qam9
9258750000-4.536.3256 qam

8

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Modulation Power (dBmV) Mode Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

1046200000ATDMA47.316 qam64000005120
1232600000ATDMA4516 qam64000005120

 

2016-07-06 11:06:05.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-07 06:35:55.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-07 13:23:33.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-11 21:17:50.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-12 01:06:30.0082000200No Ranging Response received -
2016-07-12 16:16:42.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-12 19:56:23.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-13 03:29:18.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-07-16 11:23:38.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
448 Views
Message 4 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Power levels appear to be within the recommended range.

You could try the hub in modem mode (instructions here) with a PC in "safe mode with networking" to see if that makes any difference and it is one of the things VM staff will probably suggest if they can't find any faults when they test your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
440 Views
Message 5 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Hi Scott

I run it on modem mode as i have servers at home for remote clients but with the speed issues ive changed it back while VM try and find an issue.

normal setup: VM modem / PFSense Firewall with Gb Lan cards / Gigabit Netgear Switch.

ive done a speed test before the firewall with the firewall unplugged.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.37K
  • 273
  • 1.18K
Superuser
Superuser
433 Views
Message 6 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Another thing they will ask you then from your reply is, what speed do you get when its a direct connection from Superhub to your PC with all the switches taken out.

It's not to blame your equipment but it narrows it down for diagnostic purposes to remove as much as possible.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
429 Views
Message 7 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

forgot to say its a super hub 3

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
412 Views
Message 8 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

just an quick update,

ive phoned VM again this morning and was talking to a kind English lady who did more test which came back ok but she did admit that there is an issue with the broadband service that I'm getting but as she was about to do more test my mobile phones battery run out and ive not been able to get the same lady back which I was talking to.

looks like I will just have to wait and hope the a VM team member picks up on my post and can help.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
alpha1980
Joining in
394 Views
Message 9 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Hi All

Still no contact from VM but my broadband speed is starting to slow even more now.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 368
  • 9
  • 55
Tams
Fibre optic
369 Views
Message 10 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issue Been Happening From Day Of Install

Moral of this story, when phoning using a Mobile, always make sure that it had plenty of life in the battery.


alpha1980 wrote:

just an quick update,

ive phoned VM again this morning and was talking to a kind English lady who did more test which came back ok but she did admit that there is an issue with the broadband service that I'm getting but as she was about to do more test my mobile phones battery run out and ive not been able to get the same lady back which I was talking to.

looks like I will just have to wait and hope the a VM team member picks up on my post and can help.


 

0 Kudos
Reply