Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Sacu_Shi
Tuning in
404 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

I have been on 200Mb Vivid for as long as it has been available in my area.  At least a year, and prior to that 100Mb for at least 5 years.  Speed has never been an issue in the past, consistently getting the speed I was quoted or slightly above.  (Max 211Mb at one point).

I swapped my TV to Sky (took advantage of their Free UHD TV offer) and cancelled my Virgin TV package.  However, I kept my phone and Broadband.

Received a call from one of the retention team to see if I wanted to keep one of the TV boxes, and managed to get him to upgrade me to 300Mb in return for me keeping 1 TV box on minimum Tv pack.

This is when the problems started.

This was about 3 weeks ago.  Since then, my speeds have rarely gotten over 50Mb/s, with testing at 2am revealing 24Mb/s.

I am also experiencing bad latency, although pings to the test servers on speedtest.net show pings between 4ms and 25ms.  I play a game called War Thunder, and I am having very bad 'rubber banding' for the first time ever.

Called Virgin Support, who, after going through all the 1st line tests (switch it off, then back on etc), arranged an engineer.

Engineer came out today, and found no problems with my setup (not that there ever was).

The problem is CLEARLY to do with the upgrade as that is when the speed and latency issue started.  Yet I have waited for the engineer, and I am also now going to have to wait until after the New Year to get the matter sorted (originally reported on 12 December).

Can someone please look at this issue and get it sorted.  The problem is at Virgin end.  something has not been typed in properly, or someone has not done the upgrade properly on the system etc.

Please get it sorted soon, or I shall be forced to go to BT / Sky

 

BTW, I work for BT so can get all these services for free, but chose to stay with Virgin for the speed.  If the speed can't be given I might as well leave.

 

I hope this gets sorted soon. 

 

Who do I send my account details to for them to have a look?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Sacu_Shi
Tuning in
375 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

..Further to this post..

Line speeds have been tested at all times of the day.  Even 2am I only got 24Mb/s

Using 5Ghz band when on wireless.

Speedtests all done wired, both in router mode and in modem mode.

Only change was that we hade a splitter on the wiring when we had the TV.  We removed the splitter and wired the hub 3.0 directly to the wall box when the TV was removed.

Tried replacing the splitter (using both sides, the 4.0dB and the 3.6dB) to no affect.

Used Speedtest.net, and other speed testing sites.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Sacu_Shi
Tuning in
338 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss Type Test Size Score Mbps Score MB/s Username Computer ID ISP / Host Extra Identifier


12/25/2016 05:47:47 DN 44.5 MB 16.15 2.02 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb
12/25/2016 05:46:59 DN 44.5 MB 17.04 2.13 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb
12/25/2016 05:20:20 DN 37.4 MB 9.36 1.17 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 60------gb
12/25/2016 05:19:31 DN 37.4 MB 7.54 0.94 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 60------gb
12/25/2016 05:16:40 DN 37.4 MB 4.43 0.55 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 60------gb
12/25/2016 05:07:49 DN 200 MB 31.04 3.88 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb
12/25/2016 05:05:15 DN 44.5 MB 17.78 2.22 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb
12/25/2016 05:04:35 DN 44.5 MB 69.44 8.68 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb
12/25/2016 05:04:11 DN 44.5 MB 37.02 4.63 7.43733E+11 virgin_media 65------gb

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Sacu_Shi
Tuning in
335 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

Additionally, Due to the service being well below what I am subscribed to, I require a credit for each day the service is below an acceptable level (100Mb/s I believe), of the costs of my package.

Working for BT, I know what our customers feel when their internet is poor, but we do everything we can to get it resolved.  I am shocked at Virgin as their service and speeds have always been exemplary.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21.65K
  • 780
  • 3.1K
Superuser
Superuser
319 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

HA BT do everything. I'd love to tell you how BT screwed us about for 6 months try to get a business line installed.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Sacu_Shi
Tuning in
306 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

I work in retail, so I can't really comment on business. Sorry Smiley Sad

I work in the Connection dept. Which is where we resolve faults, send engineers, deal with and resolve complaints, basically getting people connected when things go wrong (which with an infrastructure over 60 years old they inevitably do).

My issue is that with Virgin, the infrastructure isn't old but over subscribing and taking orders when there is very little capacity makes a horrible customer experience.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10K
  • 294
  • 625
Forum Team
Forum Team
244 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: 300Mb = 24Mb actual speed

Hey Sacu_Shi,

 

Thanks for getting in touch, welcome to the community Smiley Very Happy

 

Sorry to hear about the problems with your speed. I've tried to investigate this but I'm unable to locate your account info.

 

I'll need to confirm additional info via PM (purple envelope, top right).

 

Speak with you soon,

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply