Menu
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Daniel1431
Tuning in
292 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

200 VIVID

Hi there,

 

After over 2 hours on the phone to VM regarding my speeds I am very concerned about the speed. One agent on phone told me that we were only subscribed to 50mb and the other told me 200mb. However, when I run tests over phone I am getting maximum of 10mb download speeds. PS4 is tracking at 400kbps through wireless so I cannot play online but have not tried xbox yet.

 

Surely speeds of this slow should not be happening.

 

I have ran a service check and all seems to be fine in the area.

 

Any ideas on what I should get VM to do about this?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.5K
  • 1.38K
  • 3.37K
Superuser
Superuser
255 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

hiya @Daniel1431 would need to run a check on the signal levels if you could goto http://192.168.0.1 clicking router status top right [no need to login] and if could copy/paste the downstream, upstream, network log and operational config dont worry about the formatting we can easily read it.
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
  • 514
  • 27
  • 121
deviousiphone
Rising star
253 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Yes paultechy asking for your operational config will confirm what speed you should be guessing, ruling out an inaccurate profile

  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Daniel1431
Tuning in
231 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Hi paul.

 

As I am running in modem mode this page does not work. I have just returned home from work and done another speed test which is showing as download speed of 75 which is still over 130mb slower than what I should be getting and upload speed of 10mb.

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.36K
  • 799
  • 1.96K
Superuser
Superuser
227 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Try http://192.168.100.1

Are you testing the speed wired or wirelessly?

If wireless try wired.

  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Daniel1431
Tuning in
220 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Testing speed wired. This is what I get from this log:

 

-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz) 299000000 267000000 275000000 283000000 291000000 307000000 315000000 323000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 65 61 62 63 64 66 67 68
Modulation 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) -2.07 -1.42 -1.67 -1.78 -1.56 -1.66 -1.38 -1.28
RxMER (dB) 36.39 36.84 36.84 36.84 37.09 36.84 37.09 37.09
Pre RS Errors 4312 6113 2381 3051 2985 2651 1700 1166
Post RS Errors 938 1248 515 1461 930 754 440

340

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type N/A N/A 2.0 2.0
Channel ID N/A N/A 1 4
Frequency (Hz) N/A N/A 46200000 23600000
Ranging Status Other Other Success Success
Modulation N/A N/A 64QAM 32QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) N/A N/A 5120000 5120000
Mini-Slot Size N/A N/A 4 4
Power Level (dBmV) N/A N/A 46.75 45.25
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 0 0 0 3
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0

 

First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
12/02/2017 17:00:24 GMT 12/02/2017 17:00:24 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/02/2017 17:00:23 GMT 12/02/2017 17:00:23 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/02/2017 17:00:22 GMT 12/02/2017 17:00:22 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/02/2017 16:18:11 GMT 12/02/2017 16:18:11 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
11/02/2017 14:08:33 GMT 11/02/2017 14:08:33 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
11/02/2017 13:40:10 GMT 11/02/2017 13:40:10 GMT Warning (5) 66050300 Auth Fail - Web login failed.
11/02/2017 13:34:19 GMT 11/02/2017 13:34:19 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - *******
11/02/2017 13:33:09 GMT 11/02/2017 13:33:09 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
10/02/2017 21:52:39 GMT 10/02/2017 21:52:39 GMT Notice (6) 68010600 DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-******** modified
10/02/2017 21:52:39 GMT 10/02/2017 21:52:39 GMT Error (4) 68010400 DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
10/02/2017 21:51:41 GMT 10/02/2017 21:51:41 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 21:50:46 GMT 10/02/2017 21:50:46 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 21:48:56 GMT 10/02/2017 21:48:56 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 21:45:15 GMT 10/02/2017 21:45:15 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 21:37:53 GMT 10/02/2017 21:37:53 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 21:23:09 GMT 10/02/2017 21:23:09 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
10/02/2017 20:53:40 GMT 10/02/2017 20:53:40 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

 

General Configuration

Network Access Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
DOCSIS Mode EuroDOCSIS 3.0
Config File  

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID 9768
Max Traffic Rate 230000000 bps
Max Traffic Burst 42600 bytes
Min Traffic Rate 0 bps

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID 9767
Max Traffic Rate 12700000 bps
Max Traffic Burst 16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate 0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst 16320 bytes
Scheduling Type

 

 

 

[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.36K
  • 799
  • 1.96K
Superuser
Superuser
198 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Apart from a few T3's yesterday the stats look fine.

Are you experiencing the slow speeds all the time or only during evening peak times.

What device where you testing with? Does it have a gigabit ethernet adapter? It might be worth checking the adapter's drivers are up to date aaccording to the adapter's manufacturer's website and the drivers are set to autonegotiation.

Are you using Cat 5e or better ethernet cable? It might be worth trying another ethernet cable.

You are correctly configured for the 200Mbps package.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Daniel1431
Tuning in
191 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Slow speeds are quite often. Last night when I came home from cinema at around 10pm the speed had dropped to 7mb. I currently test with my wired desktop Mac. When I use Wifi on the PS4 I am getting kbps. Do you think I should put the router in router mode and not use the netgear anymore?

I honestly have no idea what cable I am using for the internet it has been in for a long time now. Just completed another speed test at 18:29 and the speeds are: 46mbps download speed.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.36K
  • 799
  • 1.96K
Superuser
Superuser
182 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

I would put the hub into router mode for testing purposes, and test the speeds connected directly to the hub during the day and again during evening peak times. Headline wired speeds during the day and poor speeds during the evening would indicate a contention issue.

Which model Mac do you have?

What is the model of the Netgear router?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Daniel1431
Tuning in
173 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 VIVID

Thanks for the reply griffin.

The iMac is mid 2010 model with 3.06 i3 processor. Never experienced any issues with internet before hand. The router is a Netgear N300 wireless router. Again never had any issues until recently.

Have the issues regarding Wifi to Xbox and PS4 been resolved yet? I read lots of reports about it kicking players offline. 

0 Kudos
Reply