Menu
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
165 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Upstream interface issue

Hi folks, I've been informed that there is a problem with multiple interface cards at the exchange (correct terminology?). This is the apparent reason for my broadband speed degradation (100mb down to 1 or 2mb). SLA for replacement of said cards was reported as 7 days for resolution.

I just spoke to a chap in the Indian call centre for an update. He informed me that he thought he knew what the problem might be. In his words, he pushed out some config changes which should fix my problem. Ignoring the faulty NIC issue mentioned above the config change hasn't fixed the degradation of service. Instead..<deep sigh> he's arranged for an engineer to visit my property. This is day 3 of a reduced service and in the other 2 days, the more competent sounding engineers diagnosed a problem elsewhere upstream and ruled out a router or cabling issue. 

How do I get an update on the problem ticket raised for the interface cards? I believe there should be notes on my account.

Kindest of regards

Underbelly7

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.78K
  • 725
  • 1.84K
Superuser
Superuser
150 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

It takes a few days for an official response from the VM Forum team on here as it is basically a community led forum, but you will get an informed reply. Were you given a fault code for the problem?

If there is an issue with muluple linecards at the CMTS (exchange) then it could affect many thousands of users, so should get resolved fairly quickly.

It looks like you have been blessed by the offshore call center's world famous "magic signal". All they do is reboot the hub remotely and the hub will pick up the config file from the CMTS during the hub's registration process.

The upstream problem sounds a lot more plausble, inspecting the Hub's power levels and logs could yield a few clues, if the upstream power levels are high and there are a lot of T3 errors in the logs, then it does look like a upstream problem.

 

  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
140 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Thanks Griffin. The engineer visit proved fruitless as anticipated. I have been informed that the issue is one of over-utilisation. A resolution SLA of 8th Dec 2017 was advised. A call to customer care was placed and I have been allowed to cancel the contract without penalty. Oh I forgot to mention I was informed the service degradation was likely to get worse as the SLA date approaches. I am now left with a decision to seek an alternative ISP or wait to see if the problem is fixed by 8th Dec. Other users here have advised that date can be extended by way of delays with planning permission amongst other things. 

BT have an offer on for discounted fibre BB which ends today.  Decisions ..Decisions. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.31K
  • 72
  • 296
cje85
Knows their stuff
132 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Was the speed drop sudden and does it occur all day? If so, there is likely to be more to it than utilisation.

High utilisation will affect peak time speeds but not all day, and it would gradually appear over several months as more users are signed up.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
120 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Yes, the speed dropped overnight. Download speed has been circa 80-100mb for 6 months (even during peak times). Sunday evening the average download speed was circa 100mb and dropped to 1.5mb on Monday morning. It's remained there or thereabouts since. 

This is very peculiar but VM just don't seem to want to get to the bottom of it. The utilisation issue in the area has been ongoing since October 2016. As you say, high utilisation would only affect speeds during peak hours. Not sure what needs to happen now.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.78K
  • 725
  • 1.84K
Superuser
Superuser
118 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting, but do obscure personal information like your WAN IP address.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
116 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Yup, sorry should have done that earlier. Here you go:

--Downstream--

12910000007.538.9256 qam20
22830000007.638.6256 qam19
32750000008.438.9256 qam18
42670000008.538.6256 qam17
5259000000838.6256 qam16
62510000008.138.9256 qam15
72430000008.138.6256 qam14
8235000000838.9256 qam13
93150000007.638.6256 qam23
10307000000838.6256 qam22
112990000008.138.6256 qam21
123230000008.338.6256 qam24

 

--Upstream--

1746200000ATDMA37.516 qam64000005120
2025800000ATDMA37.516 qam64000005120

 

--Network Log--

2017-10-10 16:16:19.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:19.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:19.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:19.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:23.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:39.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:39.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:39.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:39.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:41.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-10 16:16:41.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:30:44.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:30:45.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:30:50.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:15.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:48.0082000300Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:48.0082000600Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:48.0082000300Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:48.0082000600Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-10-11 17:31:50.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.78K
  • 725
  • 1.84K
Superuser
Superuser
109 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

The downstream power levels are a bit warm but still within VM specs.

However, there are a lot of errors in the logs over an hour or so period which suggest the hub is struggling to communicate with VM's CMTS.

Personally, I would wait here a few days until a VM Forum Team member picks up the thread and can take a closer look at your connection.

Whilst waiting, you could start a Broadband Qualty Monitor here, which will gibe a deeper insight on how your connection is performing and give VM a bit more diagnostic info if needed.

  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
115 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

Thanks griffin, will do. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
underbelly7
Tuning in
97 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream interface issue

A sea of red - 100% packet loss?? The saga continues. I called VM to ask for some more in-depth analysis of the network logs. After running through the same troubleshooting steps gain, I was informed a principle engineer will visit my property next week. Probably to tell me there is a utilisation problem in my area. Smiley LOL 

bb_monitor_October.png

0 Kudos
Reply