Menu
Reply
  • 56
  • 0
  • 3
AfxTwn
On our wavelength
1,036 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi, I have a couple of the Powerline AV500 adapters to help boost the wi-fi signal to my bedroom. I live in a ground floor flat and my VM Superhub 2 is located in the living room and despite my bedroom being only being around 20 feet away from it, I still get a bad wi-fi signal so I decided to get the Powerline kit from Virgin.

While it does work, unfortunately it seems to constantly be disconnecting (even though the lights are on) and I lose my connection to the internet on my iPad in the bedroom (or anywhere else in the house if I'm connected to the Powerline connection). The only way to fix this is to switch the Powerline adapter off and on again in the bedroom, however the connection is always limited and could disconnect again at any moment (even though my iPad shows I have a full signal but webpages just don't load).

All my electrical sockets are on the same ring/circuit (I have checked my fuse box) and the Powerline adapters are working fine.

Is there any way to fix this issue or is it just like the router's wi-fi and can be very temperamental and easily blocked by environmental factors?

 

Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,013 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi AfxTwn,

Apologies for your poor Wi-Fi connection and hope we can help with this. I have tested your connection just to make certain there's no power level issue for instance that might impact on wireless, but it's looking very healthy from here. 

What I'd like to see are the Hub logs to see if they can provide any information relating to this. 

Please access your Hub's interface pages by typing 192.168.0.1 into your browser.

Login (default access info is on label under Hub).

Go to Advanced Settings > Logs > Firewall Logs & Network Logs.

Copy any data provided an post on here please.

Please also read our Help article on how to optimise powerline performance.

Keep me updated Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 56
  • 0
  • 3
AfxTwn
On our wavelength
1,009 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi Jen,

Here is the Firewall Log:

Thu 09 Jun 09:07 BST 62.253.131.101 68 1 DHCP WAN IP - ###########
Thu 16 Jul 05:54 BST 107.6.91.27 0 0 ICMP Flood
Tue 11 Nov 03:03 GMT 89.163.239.9 5080 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Mon 10 Nov 18:50 GMT 89.248.172.144 3389 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Sat 08 Nov 05:05 GMT 195.154.251.198 5081 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Thu 06 Nov 14:12 GMT 80.82.70.134 68 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 04 Nov 07:57 GMT 188.225.72.78 5900 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Wed 29 Oct 14:55 GMT 89.248.166.137 143 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Sun 26 Oct 22:29 GMT 94.102.63.141 1433 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Wed 24 Sep 16:19 BST 62.210.124.109 5082 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Mon 22 Sep 20:05 BST 93.174.93.204 1755 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Wed 17 Sep 15:26 BST 62.210.86.115 5081 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 16 Sep 05:51 BST 85.195.105.193 5086 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Thu 11 Sep 23:20 BST 93.174.93.235 636 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 12 Aug 08:31 BST 62.253.174.18 0 0 ICMP Flood
Wed 06 Aug 01:46 BST 185.11.145.195 389 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Fri 01 Aug 17:00 BST 88.150.200.35 5081 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Sat 19 Jul 04:34 BST 121.10.130.5 0 0 ICMP Flood
Sun 29 Jun 21:21 BST 95.211.191.156 1755 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Sun 29 Jun 19:39 BST 93.174.93.129 110 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Wed 25 Jun 01:26 BST 209.239.124.206 5087 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Mon 16 Jun 21:19 BST 62.210.79.63 5081 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Wed 11 Jun 15:28 BST 213.136.75.163 25 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 10 Jun 20:21 BST 39.50.220.235 0 0 Teardrop or derivative
Tue 10 Jun 03:25 BST 94.102.63.54 143 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Fri 06 Jun 01:02 BST 62.210.79.66 5081 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 03 Jun 18:43 BST 198.20.69.98 47808 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Tue 03 Jun 17:33 BST 80.82.65.205 5000 0 TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan
Mon 02 Jun 19:45 BST 85.29.168.42 0 0 ICMP Flood
Sat 24 May 01:31 BST 62.210.148.5 5081 0

TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan

 

And here is the network log:

27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
27/07/2016 11:39:06 GMT 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
 
I have had a quick look through the Powerline optimisation link you provided and I am using the AV500 model supplied by Virgin, I don't know if this is the best model for use with my Superhub 2 router or my broadband speed (I am on the 152 meg package although that is getting upgraded too 200 meg at some stage).
 
Both of the Powerline adapters are plugged into twin sockets, the one in the living room which is connected directly to the router is on a line of sockets which are also being used for my TV, Tivo, Blu-Ray player etc etc so I would imagine that all the other equipment might be taking a lot of power from the sockets. There is nothing I can do about this as I only have a few wall sockets and so short of literally just connecting a couple of devices and hardly having anything turned on, I don't know what else to do.
 
The main reason I am concerned about the poor Powerline signal is that I have just ordered another Tivo box for the bedroom and as that relies on a wi-fi signal I want to make sure it will work. Perhaps when the engineer comes to install it, he can take a look at the wi-fi/router, Powerline adapters and Tivo and see if there's any way of boosting the signal.
 
[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]
 
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,000 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi AfxTwn,

Thanks for providing that information.

No errors detected.

If you take a look at the network log you'll note that the date/time-stamp remains the same throughout - 27/07/201611:39:06. So just one T3 timeout occurred. This repeat reporting glitch does occur from time-to-time.

The best way to rule out the powerline adaptors from potentially being faulty is to connect a pc or laptop directly to the Hub via Ethernet. I appreciate this may a tad awkward given your current setup but I'd like to know the results for testing purposes.

Let me know what happens when the engineer visits.

If there's still no improvement, and if reconfiguring your WiFi settings doesn't help, I'll see if a replacement Hub will help.

Speak soon Smiley Happy


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
995 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting


AfxTwn wrote:

 The main reason I am concerned about the poor Powerline signal is that I have just ordered another Tivo box for the bedroom and as that relies on a wi-fi signal I want to make sure it will work. Perhaps when the engineer comes to install it, he can take a look at the wi-fi/router, Powerline adapters and Tivo and see if there's any way of boosting the signal.

The Tivo doesn't use wireless, so you have nothing to worry about in that respect. All Tivo traffic goes through the white coax cable.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 56
  • 0
  • 3
AfxTwn
On our wavelength
944 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi, it's been a few weeks now since the engineer has visited to install a second Tivo box in the bedroom. He didn't really offer much advice as to why the Netgear Powerline adapter would randomly disconnect other than to say that Virgin don't guarantee that Wifi products will work as they're very environment dependent and lots of things can interfere with the signal.

Anyway, I factory reset the powerline adapters and re-connected them to my router and seemed to have some success as the wifi signal in the bedroom was a lot more stable and I wasn't seeing any disconnects as before. I have been using the wifi signal in the bedroom with the TV and an Amazon Fire TV Stick so I can watch Amazon Prime videos. Everything had been working fine up until yesterday when suddenly I got the disconnect again on the powerline adapter in the bedroom.

Again all the lights are on indicating the adapter is on and connected and indeed when checking the network connection on the TV, it said the powerline adapter was connected to wifi but not connected to the internet.

Investigating further, on my PC I have the Netgear Genie software which shows my Superhub 2 router (as it's made by Netgear), and any devices connected to the network. Strangely it only showed one of the powerline adapter's connected (the one in the living room that is connected direct to the router by ethernet). It didn't show the adapter in the bedroom as being connected to the network and so I then turned off the powerline adapter in the bedroom (as I usually have to do when it randomly disconnects) and back on again after waiting 10 seconds so it would reset and reconnect to the network. I left it a few minutes and checked the TV's wifi connection in the bedroom and the powerline adapter was working again. Just to make sure I checked the Netgear Genie app and sure enough, there was the additional adapter showing on the network map along with the adapter in the living room.

So unfortunately it looks like the random disconnect problem has started again and I have no idea what causes it or how to get a stable, always on connection. I just wished the powerline adapters worked as well as the standard wifi in the living room from the router as I have never had a problem connecting my smartphone or iPad to the router's wifi whereas the powerline adapters is very intermittent and may appear to be connected (even showing a strong wifi signal) but won't allow your device to connect to the internet.

I don't know if perhaps there's a problem with the powerline adapters where if they're not being constantly used or connected to the internet they go to sleep and disconnect from the internet whilst still being powered on and connected to the overall network. Perhaps turning the adapter off and on resets the device and causes it to ping the internet again and thereby reestablish a connection but without a constant ping to the internet, the adapter eventually goes back into sleep mode. As I only use my TV for a couple of hours at night perhaps this isn't a constant enough connection.

Please could you offer some advice as to whether there is anything I can do to solve this or if there are any better powerline adapters out there because these AV 500's just aren't fit for purpose as you never know if you'll have a stable connection and so they're a bit of a waste of time.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
938 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

I believe the AV 500 does have energy saving features which should put it into low power mode when not being actively used.  That might explain what you are experiencing but the way you describe it the disconnections seem a bit more random, also there is normally a change in the LEDs on the front when in energy saving mode.  It could be a firmware bug, have you checked the Netgear site to see if there are any firmware updates?

It could be an issue with your wiring that may be interrupting the connection between the adaptors and the one in the bedroom is timing out and deciding to stop communicating with the other adaptor until it is restarted.  I have recently discovered that some adapters are disrupted by mobile phone chargers plugged in nearby.  Again, I would also expect this to result in a change of the LEDs on the front to indicate the loss of connection to the other adapter.

If there are no updates on the Netgear site then it sounds like it might be a faulty adapter.

I have used similar Netgear adapters (but without the wifi) and they worked fine for me.  I did usually switch them off when I went to bed so they were regularly restarted.  I only stopped using them when I moved my router and used a long Ethernet cable to connect the two rooms I'd been using the adapters in.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 56
  • 0
  • 3
AfxTwn
On our wavelength
880 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Just bumping this thread as I am still having issues with the Powerline adapter. It has been a bit more stable recently and I've been able to watch Amazon Prime content on the TV in the bedroom (via the Powerline's wifi) but another issue I have is when trying to watch any recordings from my living room's Tivo box on the bedroom Tivo.

I have the bedroom connected to the powerline adapters ethernet port and as the powerline adapter in the living room is connected to the Superhub, this allows me to access each box's My Shows recordings in any room.

However when I try to watch a recording off the living room Tivo on the bedroom one, then it plays fine for a while and then stops with a message about the network speed being too slow. This is incredibly frustrating and so I have abandoned this now.

That on top of the intermittent disconnections of the Powerline in general has left me very annoyed with the whole setup. It seems ridiculous that even though my bedroom is only 18ft from the living room router, there is a wifi blackspot there.

And even more annoying that a product supplied by Virgin (the Powerline adapters) is very hit and miss as to whether it works or not.

Why can't two Tivo boxes communicate with each other over the fibre optic cable rather than having to be linked to the router by an ethernet cable? This is pretty impractical in most homes where the router would be in the living room downstairs and an additional Tivo box would be in an upstairs bedroom. Are people supposed to get 30ft plus ethernet cables and run them round the house?

Also isn't there anything available from Virgin similar to this http://www.shop.bt.com/learnmore/bt-branded-products-and-services/bt-whole-home-wi-fi/?ReferrerID=PK... or this http://www.huddlewifi.com/

I don't know if they work any better but they sound like they might be better than the current options. If the Powerline adapters aren't reliable and the Superhub's wifi signal isn't particularly strong or prone to interference (from pretty much anything such as walls, any electrical equipment or internal wiring of your house) then why can't you provide an additional router for the bedroom to cover the wifi blackspot?

This is really frustrating as despite the advertising from Virgin about how good the wifi is or how fast your broadband speeds are, I'm just not getting the service I am paying for. I know this is probably an industry-wide issue and perhaps the UK's wifi infrastructure just isn't good enough and our old houses weren't designed to meet the 21st century internet demands placed on them but surely there's something that can be done?

Sorry for this long post/rant but I'm just sick of only having internet access in one room in the house.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 56
  • 0
  • 3
AfxTwn
On our wavelength
861 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Ok another update but this will be the final one regarding this. After constant disconnections and poor network speeds with the AV500 kit (supplied by Virgin) I phoned them and they ran some tests and suggested trying the Powerline adapter (XWN5001) just in the living room near to where the XAV5201 is connected to the router to see if the problem still persists and it does.

I phoned Virgin again today and after looking on Virgin's powerline website, saw that there were 3 new powerline products available and so asked if I could have one of those as a replacement but was told that I couldn't and that Virgin only supply the adapters but after exhausting all their attempts at fixing the issue they had to refer me to Netgear. I had already tried to get in touch with Netgear and they had told me that as the products were out of warranty I would have to pay either £59.99 for 6 months support or £89.99 for 12 months support (this support isn't just for Netgear products and is a support service for all your gadgets and tech issues).

I put this to Virgin and they said there was nothing they could do as they only supply the powerline adapters and if you have any issues you have to contact Netgear directly.

Needless to say I am very disappointed with this as the Powerline adapters were supplied to me by Virgin (after paying £47 for them) and they made no mention that they have a limited warranty (3 months with Netgear) or that if there were any faults they wouldn't supply a replacement and instead just pass the buck to Netgear.

Now I either pay for an additional warranty/out-of-warranty support package with Netgear that I don't really want or the only other option is to buy some new and better adapters myself.

I think this is pretty bad of Virgin and I would expect more being a long time customer and someone who uses all their services and their top tier packages.

So think of this as a warning to others thinking of getting a Powerline adapter from Virgin, beware you may not have much of a warranty after all and Virgin will just pass the buck to Netgear if they can't fix it rather than sending out a replacement.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
820 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Netgear Powerline AV500 Keeps Disconnecting

Hi AfxTwn, 

I am really sorry that we haven't yet managed to provide a resolution, I promise to do my best and try to get this sorted for you.

I can see that my colleague Jen mentioned in her last post (message 4) that if things didn't work out, a replacement Hub would be sent to you. So I have ordered a new Hub for you.

The Hub should arrive within the next 3 - 5 working days. It will contain all set up instructions, it will arrive via Yodel's courier service. If you're not present at the time of delivery the driver will leave a card and you will need to call to re-arrange the delivery.

At this point, we do not know whether or not this new Hub will definitely solve your problems, but it's worth a try. If you still experience these issues then post back here and we'll take it from there.

All the best, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply