Menu
Paul25
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Speed fluctuation

Any help would be appreciated.  I am new to VM I have the vivid 200 broadband only package, but my speeds are varying between 10 Mbps to 218 Mbps down and 1Mbps to 12Mbps up,these are varying by the minute.  The engineer said that there will be a bit of fluctuation,  but that should not last longer than 24 hours, it's now well over 24 hours!

On the installation the SCCI technician connected me up to existing SKY cables that have been installed for 3 or more years and fitted another faceplate, despite me questioning him about this he said it would be alright to do this as his company works for SKY and other companies  also - so he is allowed to do that and that  Virgin techs are not allowed to do this?   I had no choice but to let him install my service in this manner.

Then the VM technician turned up and installed the HUB 3 router using new cat5e coaxial from the faceplate to the router, an inline isolator was installed to prevent surges also an inline attenuator to balance the signal.   Then he said there was a problem at the back office and wrote this on the sheet:"Issue with wall garden to BBI not working,  works stage to D5 *cable left loose on customers request."  (I requested that the cable not be clipped up in my front room due to decorating taking place soon).  I am the only person connected to the main box and services, nobody else in my block has taken up VM services according to the tech.....