Menu
Reply
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
1,766 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Hi, I seem to be getting lost packets exclusively in Overwatch? 

Can someone help explain what the loss in figure and vertical orange lines on the netgraph mean.

I constantly have between 2-15% LOSS IN when I check the netgraph in game.

Obviously this means my experience is very annoying as it results in spikes constantly.ow 1.jpgow 2.jpgow 3.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
3,357 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Terminated yesterday. 

0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
1,737 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

This is a peak time issue.

i just tested the connection again today at 12:34pm and absolutely no network issues:

ScreenShot_16-09-28_12-33-08-000.jpgScreenShot_16-09-28_12-33-31-000.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.24K
  • 512
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
1,734 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Do you know if there is overutilisation in the area? Slow speeds evenings and weekends?

Is anyone else on the connection while you are playing? What are they doing?

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
1,727 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Hi, yes there is a definite slow down during the evenings and weekends.

Only laptops, and not doing any heavy duty streaming or downloading.

The first graph is from about 10pm last night with the router in modem mode anyway.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.24K
  • 512
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
1,720 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Without delving any deeper theres two immediate possibilities.

Overutilisation can cause ping spikes

Buffer bloat on the HUB can cause ping spikes.

We should probably do troubleshooting anyways-

So we can help us to help you, can you

Go to your Superhub Log in screen

Do NOT log in.

Little button top right.....


Can you post Upstream, Downstream and Network logs.



Screen caps are nice, C&P will do- Don't stress about formatting if you C&P. Someone will get a look and see if there's anything obvious amiss.

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
1,715 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Network Log Date And Time Error Number Event Description

2016-09-18 07:38:53.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 07:38:54.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 07:38:54.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 07:44:23.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:08.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:08.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:08.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:09.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:13.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:34:59.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:41:55.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:41:55.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:42:35.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:42:35.0084020300MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:43:24.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:43:57.0068000900TFTP file complete - but missing mandatory TLV;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:44:02.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:44:28.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 08:44:30.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2016-09-18 14:07:47.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1.PNG2.PNG3.PNG
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
1,712 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Just got off the phone with the technical department - There is an overutilisation problem in our area which is causing problems between 6pm to 11pm every evening.

Due to overselling the broadband essentially. The operator said that it will be addressed by 28th November at the latest when they are 'upgrading the network' and there is nothing that can be done to fix it in terms of engineer visits or equipment. We were offered a measly £12.50 off our monthly bill from this month as we are not getting the connection we have paid for.

Looking to terminate the service ASAP and i would absolutely not recommend anyone choosing Virgin broadband in the Hertfordshire area. 

Thanks for the help by the way Kippies.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.24K
  • 512
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
1,701 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Good move, if its fixed by 28th of November Ill eat my fingers. Thats a review date, not a fix date.

Your power levels are well within spec so no amount of tinkering would help. PITA I know, but at least you know. Id do exactly the same thing in your position. Remember that there's been a price rise notified so you wont be liable for any EDF's no matter where you are in your contract.

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 40
  • 4
  • 0
rphm1962
Dialled in
3,358 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

Terminated yesterday. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
InCole
Joining in
302 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Overwatch packet loss? Netgraph pictures attached

I also live in Hertfordshire area and raised ticket initially with Blizzard. Blizzard had look at my network logs and said issue is clearly on Virgin Media side as I am getting massive packet loss between my home and the Virgin Media first hop from my home.

From my traceping... notice the high delay to that connection. That is also where my packet loss starts.

ms 112 ms 145 ms cpc18-hatf7-2-0-gw.9-3.cable.virginm.net [81.109.197.1]

 

I hope they fix this in November, as I notice I have lag spikes in other games as well but in Overwatch it is enough to cause actual disconnects.

0 Kudos
Reply