cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub status data - understanding network log messages

Andrew-G
Alessandro Volta

N Warning: Long, dull, a bit technical. N

Having needed to repeat myself a few times, I thought I'd share my understanding of what you might find in a Hub 3's network log when things go wrong, and what it means.  First of all, this post is based on my own reading around DOCSIS cable technology, all is public domain, and is not information supplied or endorsed by Virgin Media.  Whilst I have some experience working on computer systems, I am only an interested amateur here, I have no technical training in this area, there are considerable simplifications I have chosen to make, and the possibility of error where I may simply be wrong.  If you do know better, feel free to correct me, but then you could have written all of this first.  Most of what follows apples to the Hub 4 and earlier Superhubs, but may have slightly different terminology.