cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi keeps dropping out

Evelyn60
On our wavelength

This past five days we’ve experienced issues with our WiFi dropping out. It’s happening about every 30 minutes.  I have turned off hub/router. Have turned off devices , tried all suggested checks etc and still having issues.  We had no problem whatsoever until a few days ago.  It’s both annoying and frustrating. Could be in middle of something and get the dreaded you are no longer connected to Internet.  Any hints or tips appreciated but not too technical please.  I’m not tech savvy unfortunately.  Many thanks. 

80 REPLIES 80

Stumac62
On our wavelength

Returning back to my issues with the WiFi dropping out. It's still happening constantly on mobile phones and laptop.

Can someone tell me/confirm that the cable running from the street to the house is exclusive to Virgin (coaxial?) and if so, I that means if I decide to switch to, for example, BT (Full Fibre) I would then need a new connection put in?

I don't currently have any other cable entering the property.

Thanks,

Stu.

Hi,

Yes its coaxial cable. So if you do switch itll need a new cable.

I have the same issue and ended buying a new router and putting the virgin one into modem mode.

Currently battling Virgin to pay for the new router as theirs is useless!

All the best

Thanks Nathan.

I've obviously read your issues and how you've had to resolve it yourself. It's a shocker that Virgin won't reimburse you for the router. They may have the fastest speeds but customer service is absolutely awful.

I'm sure I'll get the usual reponse about sending an engineer out now.

Loyalty also seems non existent. I have just been informed the price is going up by £7 taking it up to £56.25 a month, but a new customer can get the same for at least half that.

Thanks,

Stu.

I agree Stu,

We've only had the broadband.