cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30 days notice?

notdodgy
Up to speed

When I look at my contract as downloaded from view my bill, it show I can give 30 days notice.

It shows a contract start date of over 18 months ago, and says it was updated in February.
The most recent contract summary also dated February just refers to an 18 month term.

Is there any way to confirm this before I place an order with another provider?

The service works fine, I have had enough of the new compulsory mid contract rises they failed to tell me about and the 3 hours spent every time trying to get a reasonable renewal deal. 
A new provider is building FTTP, so at last I get a choice of provider.

 

2 REPLIES 2

jpeg1
Alessandro Volta

Unless you agreed to a new 18month contract you can leave at any time with 30 days notice.

But be careful because if you negotiated with them it's quite possible they signed you up anyway. If so you'll need to cancel promptly.

- jpeg1
My name is NOT Alessandro. That's just a tag Virginmedia sticks on some contributors. Please ignore it.

unisoft
Well-informed

@notdodgy wrote:

When I look at my contract as downloaded from view my bill, it show I can give 30 days notice.

It shows a contract start date of over 18 months ago, and says it was updated in February.
The most recent contract summary also dated February just refers to an 18 month term.

Is there any way to confirm this before I place an order with another provider?

The service works fine, I have had enough of the new compulsory mid contract rises they failed to tell me about and the 3 hours spent every time trying to get a reasonable renewal deal. 
A new provider is building FTTP, so at last I get a choice of provider.

 


contracts can be updated without a new term like sometimes an agent will process a service change. The thing to check is the expiry date on any of them.

As a long term customer I left just a few days ago, not because of the service, but like you will, because of an unfair contract that is legally binding where you have two price increases potentially in that period with no escape clause and you don't know the amounts upfront.

VM will continue to produce bills until you actually disconnect, but then you should start to get credits after disconnection for any unused days. The emails I got through were incorrect, so I went through what the My Virgin Media portal said under "bills", as that was accurate. 

Hope this helps...