cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I change my email password?

claret3
Joining in

Following my ntlworld email address being locked a VM operative changed my password over the phone. I want to change this password again - but I cant see how to do that? It doesnt seem to be in the settings menu.  I'm not very tech savvy - can someone help please?

26 REPLIES 26

mhlgreen
On our wavelength

Graham_A, thanks for the tip about using the "forgotten password" link on the login page to change the password on an associated account.  It should work, but we found an unexpected problem.

It asks you for the answer to your security question.  When we set up our associated accounts years ago in the days of NTL, I don't think there was a security question.  Certainly it rejected the factually correct answer.

Possible tip:  Login in to any associated accounts and make sure you have set up and kept a record of your security question while everything is still working.  Also check any other details, including d.o.b.

Graham_A
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@mhlgreen In times past it has been reported that security answers on long standing accounts some times work if entered in all lower case or all upper case letters. Worth trying.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media, I'm a VM customer. There are no guarantees that my advice will work. Please read the FAQs
Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

mhlgreen
On our wavelength

Alex_RM  Thanks.  Everything is now working again (grateful to Rahul), with some extra work updating each computer and iphone.  However,

1) The episode has severely shaken our faith in Virgin email.

2) We suspect that not all Virgin phone support staff are clued up on unblocking email accounts