cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching suppliers - timing?

moggyman
Up to speed

My VM contract expires within the month. A discount ended in December and I've been paying over the odds since then. With the recent price increase my package** price is due to rise to nearly £90 pm.

**Mix TV, 125Mbps broadband plus Sky Movies.

Sky are offering two packages today with the same TV bundle and either 145 or 500Mbps broadband AND Netflix (I have my own private subscription at the mo so another £8 pm would be saved) for £48 or £52 pm.

I spoke to a very pleasant lady at Retentions and the best she could offer was £74 pm for my existing package. £34 pm extra (inc Netflix saving) for an inferior package isn't good economics so I've had no option but to book a disconnection.

I've been with VM since they bought out my local provider so I've been with them for 25 years and not had to change before so my question is this...

In order to keep a continuity of service (I work from home so broadband is very important) when should I book a Sky installation? I know I might get another offer but I'm planning for the worst case scenario and I still have no option but to switch.

Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5

unisoft
Well-informed

@moggyman wrote:

My VM contract expires within the month. A discount ended in December and I've been paying over the odds since then. With the recent price increase my package** price is due to rise to nearly £90 pm.

**Mix TV, 125Mbps broadband plus Sky Movies.

Sky are offering two packages today with the same TV bundle and either 145 or 500Mbps broadband AND Netflix (I have my own private subscription at the mo so another £8 pm would be saved) for £48 or £52 pm.

I spoke to a very pleasant lady at Retentions and the best she could offer was £74 pm for my existing package. £34 pm extra (inc Netflix saving) for an inferior package isn't good economics so I've had no option but to book a disconnection.