cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stream box CS2017 Channel Failed

unisoft
Well-informed

Hi VM,

Right so after original Stream box being replaced and working for a few weeks, a few days ago I rang Customer Services to report error code CS2017. The box is happily connected and passes all diagnostics tests and the catch-up apps work on the box without fault.

It is just the Live TV channels (free or subscription) that give a black screen and CS2017 Channel Failed message and to ring Virgin. I have a subscription I can't use at the moment.

It looks like my box is either denied on the network for live tv or a node/network configuration issue. CS told me that Stream has no live tv channels so I think you owe me a refund for subscriptions then 😉

14 REPLIES 14

unisoft
Well-informed

FIXED.

So despite DNS over TLS working for years with Adguard DNS, this was the cause of the Stream box not working for Live TV channels but working for apps.

I can only assume something was changed at VM within past week, or VM had tracking urls that were were being blocked because they were tracking/monitoring what people were watching and the block causes the stream to fall over.

Setting an exemption on my router to make it use a non-filtering DNS service made it work. This is not how I like to run my network though and operators should not be dictating this - so going to have to likely dump the Stream service I think, although it's in an isolated VLAN anyway away from other devices.

Hi unisoft, 

Thank you for your post. I'm very sorry for the issues you've had with your Tv services. 

I'm glad to hear this is resolved now for you. 

^Martin

CS2017 error message on Live TV been on Stream box for weeks now, after it briefly working fine. Stream Apps work fine, EPG updates fine, software updates are fine (v5.0.3).

I've switched to Sky Stream now; VM are losing money because of this.