Menu
Reply
cavalier666
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
665 Views
Message 11 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all

Network Log

Time Priority Description

06/12/2020 20:45:23noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 20:44:50Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 19:57:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 22:35:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 15:53:50noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 15:53:50ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2020 09:42:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/11/2020 22:29:54noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/11/2020 22:29:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2020 15:15:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2020 10:29:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2020 10:29:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/11/2020 06:07:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/11/2020 22:29:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/11/2020 22:29:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2020 12:43:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2020 10:29:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2020 10:29:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:11:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2020 22:29:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.87K
  • 659
  • 1.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
657 Views
Message 12 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all

Nothing jumping out at me from the log.

My money would be on the PC. The Asus site mentions "LANGuard and GameFirst technologies". That sounds like QOS options to me that could be throttling speeds.

I have seen similar gaming technologies in routers learn your top BB speed and then don't adjust when you upgrade.

______________________
Scott

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
cavalier666
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
607 Views
Message 13 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all

strange thing is that its exact same speed direct from the virgin hub with a cat6 cable

will check and reset the router to make sure, but cant see it making any difference

will get back to you

0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.87K
  • 659
  • 1.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
592 Views
Message 14 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all


@cavalier666 wrote:

strange thing is that its exact same speed direct from the virgin hub with a cat6 cable

will check and reset the router to make sure, but cant see it making any difference

will get back to you


The features I referred to "LANGuard and GameFirst technologies" are listed on the Asus site as features of the Ethernet ports on their ROG motherboards.  I may have confused you by mention gaming routers, but I'm suggesting that your motherboard may be doing the throttling.

Google throws up this result:

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?112643-Slow-Ethernet-%96-ROG-HERO-XI-and-Windows-10-Pro-(N...

That post mentions "GameFirst" which is seemingly something that can be installed or not and may slow speeds when it is installed.  It vaguely rings a bell with me as the culprit in a previous slow speed thread.

______________________
Scott

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
cavalier666
  • 12
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
560 Views
Message 15 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all

thanks for the info guys, it was the gamefirst part on the motherboard, was already off within the router

appreciate the info and help

 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/10575615242

 

working great now disabled 🙂

SCA1972
  • 5.87K
  • 659
  • 1.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
555 Views
Message 16 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: upgrade from 350mb to 500mb - no speed change at all

Glad to hear you have found the culprit. It does seem that gamefirst causes a lot of speed throttling issues.

______________________
Scott

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply