Menu
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
311 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Follows a similar theme to lots of people, recently upgraded to 1gig and got a new hub 4. 

located in same place as hub3 and now TV streaming apps buffer non stop, Netflix speed around 20mb on TV (LG WebOS) 

I’m hoping someone can help me out as it’s really depressing to “upgrade” to a better product and get worse performance than before. 

Tried a factory reset / power cycles etc and no performance improvement. 

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 18.36K
  • 765
  • 1.92K
Alessandro Volta
293 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

If you want the speed get a better router with 1Gb ports and use the hub in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 5.75K
  • 468
  • 1.45K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
261 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Try checking with Area faults on 0800 561 0061 or if you have a VM landline 150 as small local faults are not listed on the VM status page.

Have you done a 60 second reset ?

Remove any ethernet cables from the Hub and hold the pinhole reset switch for 60 seconds. Do NOT reboot the Hub, just let it do it's thing. Note you will need the passwords from the bottom of the Hub afterwards, so make sure they are legible.

Also after a reset split the SSID and manually set the wifi bands for your wifi kit.

• Access your Hub by navigating to 192.168.0.1
• Login with the default login info (on base of Hub) unless you've already updated it.
• Go to Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security
• Under Wireless Frequency 2.4GHz change the Wifi Network Name (SSID), suggest append _2 to the end.
• Repeat for the Wireless Frequency 5GHz, suggest append _5 to the end and click on Apply changes
• Try to avoid spaces and periods in the SSID names as they can cause issues with certain devices.

As for the TV, I would recommend an ethernet cable for connection.  It will not get any interference unlike wifi signals.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
255 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Thank you - I shall give this a go later on. 

ironically when I rang CS they advised I should use the same SSID for both bands (they were split originally) so I changed it back to one band. 

I’ll give the reset and remove spaces from the SSID and see what happens, I’ve got TP link APs wired for the rest of the house so worse case I’ll just put another one above the hub 4 and turn off the WI-FI from it completely. 

what’s annoying is that the only variable that’s changed since the upgrade is the hub - so it’s clearly the thing causing the issue!

0 Kudos
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
231 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Ok, did as advised and no change to WiFi speeds. Ran SamKnows and results as below (on a wired connection to the hub)

 

ChuckieSurrey_0-1642967218752.png

Also data from router status as below

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

253310000002.70000136.609653QAM25625
11390000007.00000036.386890QAM2561
21470000007.40000236.386890QAM2562
31550000007.59999836.609653QAM2563
41630000006.69999736.386890QAM2564
51710000005.90000236.609653QAM2565
61790000005.50000036.609653QAM2566
71870000005.50000036.386890QAM2567
81950000005.00000036.609653QAM2568
92030000004.80000336.386890QAM2569
102110000004.69999736.609653QAM25610
112190000004.50000036.609653QAM25611
122270000004.30000336.609653QAM25612
132350000004.30000336.609653QAM25613
142430000005.09999836.386890QAM25614
152510000005.50000036.386890QAM25615
162590000005.80000336.609653QAM25616
172670000004.90000236.609653QAM25617
182750000003.70000136.609653QAM25618
192830000003.40000236.609653QAM25619
202910000003.40000236.609653QAM25620
212990000003.90000236.609653QAM25621
223070000004.00000036.609653QAM25622
233150000003.70000136.609653QAM25623
243230000002.90000236.386890QAM25624
263390000002.09999836.386890QAM25626
273470000001.50000035.779911QAM25627
283550000001.40000235.779911QAM25628
293630000000.90000235.779911QAM25629
303710000000.70000135.779911QAM25630
313790000000.70000135.595078QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

25Locked36.60965300
1Locked36.38689060
2Locked36.386890520
3Locked36.6096531020
4Locked36.38689070
5Locked36.60965310
6Locked36.60965310
7Locked36.38689000
8Locked36.60965300
9Locked36.38689020
10Locked36.6096531630
11Locked36.60965300
12Locked36.60965310
13Locked36.60965300
14Locked36.38689010
15Locked36.38689000
16Locked36.60965300
17Locked36.60965300
18Locked36.60965300
19Locked36.60965300
20Locked36.60965310
21Locked36.60965310
22Locked36.60965370
23Locked36.60965300
24Locked36.38689000
26Locked36.38689010
27Locked35.77991140
28Locked35.77991110
29Locked35.77991130
30Locked35.77991140
31Locked35.59507820



3.1 Downstream channels

Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33964K1880QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked37-0.289319548

 

0 Kudos
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
230 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000041.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
23940000041.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000041.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
42580000040.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA000

0

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.78K
  • 1.58K
  • 4.7K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
221 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

The range of your downstream power levels looks far too wide.  I'd hope the forum staff will spot that and book you a technician.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
212 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Thanks Andrew, fingers crossed someone comes across it as I did try messaging a staff member on here but got an “unsolicited message” reply - didn’t realise I had committed a faux pas!

0 Kudos
Reply
ChuckieSurrey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
160 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Now the hub keeps resetting itself back to default settings (SSID etc) without me doing anything.

Really hopeful someone can help me on the Virgin team as the guys on the help phone line just can't seem to grasp my issues.

0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 31.66K
  • 1.21K
  • 2.54K
Forum Team
Forum Team
151 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired speed 1000mb + / WiFi speed c.50mb

Hi ChuckieSurrey, 

Thanks for your post and apologies to hear that you are having an issue with your new Hub 4. 

I can see since posting, you have been in touch with the teams and they have agreed a resolution with you. As per what was discussed, let us know how things go and if you have any further issues, pop back and we can arrange the engineer booking here for you. 

Thanks, 

Kath_F
Forum Team




New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide