Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
551 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

For the past week my BQM graphs have shown significant packet loss. I have never been able to check my router status, it just shows a blank page, so I can't check my power levels and the VM checker doesn't work for the Superhub 4.

Video calls are extremely difficult, with every other word breaking up. In desperation I factory reset my Superhub on the 2nd Oct. This solved the packet loss issue, but the lag was still there.

Then, since the 3rd/4th Oct the packet loss has been creeping back.

Does anyone have a clue what could be causing this? Or how to actually view my power levels?

deefceeded2784c1650a625105c5a81066ff65ea-01-10-2020.pngb927c81b803adb7a20277522c25f247380abdb4f-02-10-2020.png6140396bdc3f8fc0cc0c2353c97c5132b74e1045-03-10-2020.png15460eac4d945aacbbe11bddd2cbec0b760536a6-04-10-2020.pngstatus.png

The HTML of the blank page just says:

<body> <!-- <div id="loading-dialog" ><div id="loading-icon"></div><div id="loading-text" ></div></div> --> </body>

and is the same from all computers/phones and browsers in the house. Even the factory reset did not bring it back.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.38K
  • 262
  • 461
Superfast
508 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

To access the router stats on a HUB 4 you must access Advanced settings/Tools/Network status (You need to login to the HUB).

Highlighted
  • 91
  • 7
  • 7
Up to speed
493 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

He is already aware by the looks what he means is the HTTP server in the Router is not responding and has crashed so access to the router interface is not possible, the issue is being caused by a router problem (i have had this issue on my hub 3) (that caught fire as it was defective) please either wait here for a forum teem to book you an appointment or call virgin media at 8AM during the week for best results, say you cannot access your router settings and there is mass packet loss, if they do not send you a replacement you will have to wait for the forum team that will deal with your request.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
449 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

Thanks for this! Here's my hub4's status:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream

Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
31
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
1
0

 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14110000002.90000240.366287QAM2561
24190000002.50000038.983261QAM2562
34270000002.20000138.983261QAM2563
44350000002.40000240.366287QAM2564
54430000002.59999840.366287QAM2565
64510000002.59999840.366287QAM2566
74590000002.59999840.366287QAM2567
84670000002.79999940.366287QAM2568
94750000002.79999940.366287QAM2569
104830000002.70000140.366287QAM25610
114910000002.40000240.366287QAM25611
124990000002.50000038.605377QAM25612
135070000002.50000040.366287QAM25613
145150000002.50000040.366287QAM25614
155230000002.50000040.366287QAM25615
165310000002.79999940.946209QAM25616
175390000002.90000240.366287QAM25617
185470000002.70000140.366287QAM25618
195550000002.79999940.366287QAM25619
205630000002.59999840.366287QAM25620
215710000002.59999840.366287QAM25621
225790000002.59999840.366287QAM25622
235870000002.59999840.366287QAM25623
245950000002.20000140.366287QAM25624
256030000001.90000240.366287QAM25625
266110000001.70000140.366287QAM25626
276190000001.29999940.366287QAM25627
286270000001.20000138.605377QAM25628
296350000000.90000238.983261QAM25629
306430000001.09999838.983261QAM25630
316510000001.00000038.983261QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked020
2Locked17690012020
3Locked417742525930
4Locked15066150030
5Locked17689818030
6Locked17701880830
7Locked15156364520
8Locked17936293640
9Locked20007855680
10Locked20038348740
11Locked17252275450
12Locked17163410150
13Locked19957469050
14Locked19955990370
15Locked17205611640
16Locked10961229730
17Locked12939957840
18Locked12931425480
19Locked109568955100
20Locked10833684370
21Locked12845020240
22Locked12819998070
23Locked108011904130
24Locked201927379110
25Locked22179306790
26Locked221710957150
27Locked201140844230
28Locked200179000190
29Locked220183678190
30Locked221104971200
31Locked4233142541230

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
448 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

 

3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159964K1880QAM4096728


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked 0.71729859861

0

 

3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
16030000039.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM9
23940000037.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM12
34620000037.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM11
45370000038.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM10



3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020

 

3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
16030000039.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM9
23940000037.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM12
34620000037.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM11
45370000038.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM10



3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
447 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

General Configuration

Network access
true
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
true
DOCSIS Mode
3.1
Config file
ca69834ncxv9873254k;fg87d



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID
8814
Max Traffic Rate
402500089
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID
8813
Max Traffic Rate
38500089
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
42600
Scheduling Type
bestEffort

 

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:214Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 02/10/2020 10:16:235MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 02/10/2020 10:16:233No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.38K
  • 262
  • 461
Superfast
408 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status


@inf wrote:

 

3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159964K1880QAM4096728


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked 0.71729859861

0

 

 

3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
16030000039.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM9
23940000037.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM12
34620000037.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM11
45370000038.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM10

3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020

The T3 timeouts and number of corrected errors, highlighted above, are not a good sign!

VM should hopefully reply to this thread to investigate further.

Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
369 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

Thanks Carl!

Now I know to look out for "Correcteds" and "T3 Timeouts" and I'm not just making a fuss about nothing.

I shall wait for someone from VM to reply to this thread with a suggested next action.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
303 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

Another update whilst we wait for VM to notice this post.

3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)

159Locked 0.12828768780

 

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0020
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0020

 

BQM without ip addressBQM without ip addressBQM without ip addressBQM without ip addressBQM without ip addressBQM without ip address

I'm assuming all the yellow is from congestion in my area/street? They don't correspond especially to times when I'm video calling. One of the main reasons to upgrade from 100 to 350 was to improve my connection as I'm working from home... but it's not especially helped, I've got more packet loss than before!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 91
  • 7
  • 7
Up to speed
280 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 4 packet loss on BQM, can't view router status

That's quite interesting, as I was told by VM my area is congested and this is what my BMQ looks like
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/6017552e7438b984a927845775c8dcb012...

 

It's a lot less latency and dropped packets

0 Kudos
Reply