Menu
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
628 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

Seems to have started in the past few days.

Between 10-20% packet loss and intermittent high latency pinging 8.8.8.8

Can someone check?

Area reference 22

WD3

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
621 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

--------------------------------------------------

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
567 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

After i posted this message, it was quite a bit better last night - but now this morning, lots of loss again. 

 

BQM ( have just enabled ICMP for the purpose of this test).

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/72c89719fa506a0669201e68b44f4b0405...

Screenshot 2020-08-16 at 11.42.08.pngScreenshot 2020-08-16 at 11.41.52.png

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
 15/07/2020 13:09:48  15/07/2020 13:09:48  Critical (3)  2436694080  TOD resynchronisation failure 
 15/07/2020 13:09:48  15/07/2020 13:09:48  Critical (3)  2436694077  TOD server unavailable 
 15/07/2020 15:38:30  15/07/2020 15:38:30  Error (4)  68000403  ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 15/07/2020 15:58:28  15/07/2020 15:58:28  Critical (3)  2436694078  TOD established 
 13/07/2020 07:53:21  13/07/2020 07:53:21  Critical (3)  82000500  Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 12/07/2020 11:17:56  12/07/2020 11:17:56  Critical (3)  82000400  Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 12/07/2020 11:17:15  12/07/2020 11:17:15  Critical (3)  82000200  No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
0 Kudos
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
546 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

I rebooted the super hub again - seems better, but I tried that before.  Let's see how long it lasts.

I'm in modem mode if it makes any difference.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
540 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

Your >> BQM << is a mess.

You need to contact VM.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is weekdays 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
534 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

Can you elaborate a bit on this?

 

What should I say when I call VM?  Bloke on the community forums said my BQM is a mess?  🙂

 

You can see where I rebooted at about 2.30 but then latency goes for a loop - not that it was ever good.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
526 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 16.1K
  • 701
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
520 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

You have a super hub 1 it will be better if its in modem mode with your own wireless router with 1Gb ports.

If your in modem mode what own router do you have or have you just connected a PC to the hub?

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
510 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

I thought I had a superhub 2 - diags say 

Super Hub VMDG480

 

I will give VM a call and tell them about poor performance, though if you could elaborate about what you see in the Diags, that may help.

 

thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
mrbill1234
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
480 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Seeing intermittent packet loss - appears to be on Virgin internal network

What should a good Virgin Media BQM look like?

0 Kudos
Reply