Menu
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
709 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

Hi all,

I upgraded to the 1gb package earlier in the year and am very disappointed with the results. It's now slower (~160Mbps) than the 200MB package that I left (that I routinely tested at ~180Mbps).

I have a Hub 4 in modem mode, with Linksys Velop throughout the house and a series of connected machines on a 1gb network switch. All my speed tests have been from a machine that's cabled, I'm utterly unconcerned about the wifi tbh.

My speedtests were initially OK - I got 875Mbps at one point in April a few days after upgrading (that's the fastest I've ever recorded) but my fastest speed in June was only 179Mbps, July is looking the same.

My hub stats look like this:

Cable Modem Status
ItemStatusComments
Cable Modem StatusOnlineDOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channelLockedSC-QAM
Channel OverviewDownstreamUpstream
DOCSIS 3.0 channels314
DOCSIS 3.1 channels10

 

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
84662500003.640.4QAM2568
64502500003.139QAM2566
74582500003.340.4QAM2567
94742500003.140.9QAM2569
104822500003.440.4QAM25610
114902500003.639QAM25611
12498250000440.4QAM25612
13506250000440.4QAM25613
145142500004.340.9QAM25614
155222500004.540.9QAM25615
165302500003.940.4QAM25616
17538250000440.4QAM25617
185462500004.540.4QAM25618
195542500004.740.4QAM25619
205622500004.540.4QAM25620
21570250000440.9QAM25621
225782500004.440.4QAM25622
235862500004.639QAM25623
245942500004.939QAM25624
256022500003.738.6QAM25625
266102500003.339QAM25626
27618250000339QAM25627
286582500001.639QAM25628
296662500001.139QAM25629
306742500001.438.6QAM25630
316822500002.339QAM25631
326902500001.339QAM25632
336982500000.939QAM25633
347062500001.438.6QAM25634
357142500001.939QAM25635
367222500002.539QAM256

36

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
708 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

ChannelLock StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
8Locked40.36628700
6Locked38.98326100
7Locked40.36628700
9Locked40.94620900
10Locked40.36628700
11Locked38.98326100
12Locked40.36628700
13Locked40.36628700
14Locked40.94620900
15Locked40.94620900
16Locked40.36628700
17Locked40.36628700
18Locked40.36628700
19Locked40.36628700
20Locked40.36628700
21Locked40.94620900
22Locked40.36628700
23Locked38.98326100
24Locked38.98326100
25Locked38.60537700
26Locked38.98326100
27Locked38.98326100
28Locked38.98326100
29Locked38.98326100
30Locked38.60537700
31Locked38.98326100
32Locked38.98326100
33Locked38.98326100
34Locked38.60537700
35Locked38.98326100
36Locked38.9832610

0

 

ChannelChannel Width (MHz)FFT Type Number of Active SubcarriersModulation (Active Profile)First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
37944K1840QAM4096728
      
Channel IDLock StatusRxMER Data (dB)PLC Power (dBmV)Correcteds (Active Profile)Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
37Locked411.8783817344

969

0 Kudos
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
706 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
125800000515120 KSym/sec64QAM8
23260000051.55120 KSym/sec64QAM7
339400000495120 KSym/sec64QAM6
44620000048.85120 KSym/sec64QAM5
      
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0010
3US_TYPE_STDMA0020
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

 

Network accessTRUE
Maximum Number of CPEs1
Baseline PrivacyTRUE
DOCSIS Mode3.1
Config filecmreg-vmdg640-bbt076-b.cm
  
  
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID1319406
Max Traffic Rate1200000450
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
  
Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID1319405
Max Traffic Rate55000270
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypebestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
704 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

I appreciate that there's a bit of an info dump up there but I'm hoping that someone with a bit of engineering knowledge or similar might spot an issue - or, confirm that there isn't one so advise what else to check? I'm convinced it's Virgin's side, all my equipment is brand new (converted a room to a home office during lockdown) and there's evidence that it DID work at rapid speeds once, without anything changing. Things have just got worse each week to the point that I'm now fed up.

Am also happy to share speedtests, my broadband quality monitor and anything else if it helps in getting me towards the speed I'm paying for.
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 615
  • 22
  • 164
Rising star
653 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

Hi,

Most of the hubs data look normal.

However the only thing that stands out is that your upstream powerlevels are near or at max.

Thats the first thing I think needs attention and adjustment.

Also, just to rule everything else out; connect just ethernet device to the hub, reboot the hub and try the samknows real speed test.

That will let us know 1. It's not your equipment/cables

2. the hub is actually capable of achieving the 1gig speed.

 

My Broadband Ping - Gig1
0 Kudos
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
595 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

@risc19 - cheers for the reply.

I've taken the hub out of modem mode - back into router mode as is requested for the SamKnows test - and attempted to get a result on there; I can't, am continually met with the "Your SamKnows enabled device is offline" message:

ckempo_0-1627496822313.png

However, whilst in router mode I've attempted the "old" speedtest - the one that doesn't test the hub like realspeed does - and that's showing slightly better results than recently:

ckempo_1-1627496888793.png

Am going to slap it back into modem mode and see if this slight improvement remains. I know the kit can do the full speed in modem mode as things were fine on exactly the same hardware after install in April:

ckempo_2-1627497047714.png

Shall report back when back to modem mode etc.

0 Kudos
Reply
ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
589 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

OK, another reboot later and I'm back on my own hardware, hub is in modem mode etc.

Just had a speedtest report a download speed of 599.64Mbps, so something has improved. Perhaps the hub just needed a reboot? Nonetheless, I'm still not convinced that it's as fast as it could be - can I do anything else, re: power levels etc?
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 615
  • 22
  • 164
Rising star
568 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

Well speed wise you should be getting 940mb via an ethernet device, so yes it should be faster.

After the reboots has any of the hubs data changed?

Aside from virgin sending out an engineer the only thing that YOU can try is a pin hole reset..

Just hold down the tiny button recessed at the hack of the hub for 30 seconds or so.

It will completely remove all settings so you'll have to get it back into modem mode etc.

 

However I'm still convinced your powerlevels need adjusting.

 

My Broadband Ping - Gig1
0 Kudos
Reply
Lee_R
  • 3.64K
  • 176
  • 360
Forum Team
Forum Team
525 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

Hi @ckempo thanks for posting and welcome to our community.

I am sorry to hear you're having slow and inconsistent download speeds.  I have had a look from this side and cannot find any issues as to why this is happening.  I have located your account and am going to send the information to a field based manager to see if we can do an investigation.

Regards

 

Lee_R

ckempo
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
394 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post upgrade to 1GB, internet is slower than the 200MB I left...

@Lee_R - thanks, I really appreciated this - the engineer was on my doorstep the very next day!

So here's what we found:

When I downgraded my TV package and lost a box from upstairs, that should have been a visit from an engineer to change my 1-in-3-out splitter to a 1-in-2-out one, but that never happened (was just told to unplug and return the box and that was that). As things were, I had the signal split to a box upstairs that was no longer there - it was likened to a leaky tap, where pressure (or signal) is being lost in the system because it's not capped off. So that was changed.

Then there was some fiddling in the cabinet outside due to my upstream power level not being quite right. I suspect that this is what @risc19 was concerned about.

Finally - it was established my Hub 4 wasn't responding as expected, so that was changed for a new one.

Would like to recognise James (the engineer) for his efforts, if that can be passed on in some way.

As of now, I'm achieving ~630Mbps to my hub. Honestly, it's better but I'm still convinced that it isn't fast enough, all things considered - remember, the first week after install I hit the best ever recorded speed of 875Mbps, so I know that the existing infrastructure can deliver better than at present.

0 Kudos
Reply