Menu
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
309 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

Recently installed a new HUB, we have the 500Mbps package.

dyloco12_0-1605109181437.png

3 Of the devices (XBONE, DESKTOP and GALAXY -S10) are not getting the expected speeds ...

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds I had a look at this website and none of the speeds here match any that i get on my devices. really confused! I have tried restarting the wifi already and restarting my devices.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
305 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

Image isn't showing atm;
devices like the IPad, Iphone and galaxy s9 hit around 500Mbps (expected)
devices such as XBONE, PC and GALAXY S10 hit way below 100
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
286 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

b.u.mp
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
282 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
281 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 472
  • 25
  • 60
Fibre optic
274 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

These are just the connection speeds of the devices connecting wirelessly to the hub, these speeds are often inaccurate and also change based on the the signal the device sends and receives between it and the hub.

Matt
If I've helped please let me know 🙂

10 years in Technical Customer Service, Construction Trades and Administration - Now I'm a Furloughed Chef working Warehouse Jobs.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.68K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
270 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???


@dyloco12 wrote:

Recently installed a new HUB, we have the 500Mbps package.

dyloco12_0-1605109181437.png

3 Of the devices (XBONE, DESKTOP and GALAXY -S10) are not getting the expected speeds ...

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds I had a look at this website and none of the speeds here match any that i get on my devices. really confused! I have tried restarting the wifi already and restarting my devices.



The speeds defined on the website are wired speeds, not wireless.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
238 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
236 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

 
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
11387500001.738256 qam1
21467500001.238256 qam2
31547500000.938256 qam3
4162750000138256 qam4
51707500001.238256 qam5
61787500001.238256 qam6
71867500001.238256 qam7
81947500001.238256 qam8
92027500000.938256 qam9
102107500000.738256 qam10
112187500000.540256 qam11
122267500000.238256 qam12
13234750000038256 qam13
14242750000038256 qam14
15250750000-0.238256 qam15
16258750000-0.440256 qam16
17266750000-0.540256 qam17
18274750000-0.938256 qam18
19282750000-1.440256 qam19
20290750000-1.538256 qam20
21298750000-1.538256 qam21
22306750000-1.538256 qam22
23314750000-1.538256 qam23
24322750000-1.438256 qam24


Downstream bonded channels
1Locked38.970
2Locked38.670
3Locked38.640
4Locked38.980
5Locked38.9130
6Locked38.990
7Locked38.980
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.990
10Locked38.970
11Locked40.3100
12Locked38.990
13Locked38.6100
14Locked38.6120
15Locked38.9110
16Locked40.3110
17Locked40.340
18Locked38.990
19Locked40.3190
20Locked38.6100
21Locked38.670
22Locked38.9120
23Locked38.9110
24Locked38.9170
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
235 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: New HUB recently installed; different internet speeds ???

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.625512064 qam1
2326000004.525512064 qam4
3394000004.575512064 qam3
4462000004.575512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply