Menu
Kurisu112
Tuning in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

M500 no longer receiving average speeds

My setup...
Hub3 in modem mode, connected to a TP-Link Archer C5400.
Gig ethernet straight to laptop / surface.

Moved from M200 (average 230/23) 
Upgraded to M500

Started out at decent speeds would get 450+ at peak times but it has now slowed down to 330 maximum. At peak times it drops to a low of 200. 

Things I have tried...
- Resetting the hub
- Turning it off and on 😉
- Both WiFi and ethernet provide the same speed as my router supports over a gig throughput on 5ghz (just ethernet is obviously more stable)

I work in the IT sector myself so I have tried everything on my end. Feel this now needs looking at by VM.

Many thanks,
Chris 

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
conman33158
Super solver
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no longer receiving average speeds

What speed do you get on https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to router using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card?

1. Make sure the cable is Cat 5e or better
  2. Make sure your PC/laptop has a 1Gbps or better network card
  3. Disconnect all other Ethernet cables when running the test
  4. Make sure you're not in modem mode
***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
Kurisu112
Tuning in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Kurisu112_0-1616670300205.png
CAT6 - with modem mode. 

Can't test without modem mode at the moment.
Based on the fact I got 500Mbps previously running in this same setup surely rules out any issues with the router? 

Also test via LibreSpeed.org...