Menu
Reply
Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
583 Views
Message 1 of 43
Flag for a moderator

M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Hi all, 

I upgraded to the M500 package from the M200 and the speeds have gotten worse! I've been reading a lot of the forum posts and I don't appear to be alone.

Background

My setup is a Hub3 in modem mode, plugged into a Netgear R8000 Nighthawk with firmware V1.0.4.76_10.1.82. This has been running perfectly for just over 2 years and is configured correctly - running in QoS mode with 1x 2.5ghz and 2x 5ghz channels, evenly split out and managed by device (I'm a gamer and streamer so this is highly important to me).

I upgraded to the M500 on the 15th September, the router was remotely rebooted by VM and I thought that was all that was needed.  Having checked speedtest.net, there was no real change to my speeds (if anything it looked lower than before) so decided to wait a day or two.

On Sunday (19th September), I rebooted both the modem and router with a power cycle (10 minutes unplugged, cuppa, come back style :D) Still no improvement but an increase in my upload speed to 30Mbps (the 10% I've seen in other threads).

Test and Checks

So far I have done the following:

  • Hardwire Modem Check. Booted the Hub3 into Modem & Router mode, use the Cat6 lead provided from the Hub3 to a laptop, disabled wifi on the laptop and ran speedtest.net via Ethernet. No improvement in speed.
  • Hardwire Router Check. Booted the Hub3 into Modem mode only, connected to the Router via Cat6 to a laptop, disabled wifi on the laptop and ran speedtest.net via Ethernet. No improvement in speed.
  • QoS Auto/Manual. Checked QoS mode on the Router in both auto and manual and saw no change. Speed registered via the router is:

Netgear - QoS - 20-09-2021.png

My SpeedTest results show the Upload increase instantly from the date of the upgrade too, but worse download speeds:

screencapture-speedtest-net-results-2021-09-20-09_24_43-cropped.png

I've also setup a ThinkBroadband Monitor last night and I don't like the sea of red on the Packet Loss that the graph has given me:

1332f882402dfc6ce4357c67cbc9604db5951643-20-09-2021.png

Live graph here: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/a739504fa032a95f06bd986f9407a64886...

So far, I cannot get anywhere near the speeds I upgraded to and it's infuriating.  I'm ready to call up and envoke my 14 day reverse on the contract upgrade.

Here are my Modem stats (of which I will admit I am clueless about):

Hub-Status.pngHub-Downstream-1.pngHub-Downstream-2.pngHub-Upstream.pngHub-Config.png

Any help or advice would be appreciated as I am one-step away from factory resetting the modem and router which I don't want to do incase I lose all internet for a longer period of time than I can afford.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
569 Views
Message 2 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs as text into a 'REPLY' as opposed to 'QUICK REPLY'. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you will likely need to click the 'post' button again).



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.17K
  • 1.36K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
568 Views
Message 3 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

100% packet loss means one of two things: No internet connection on the IP address the BQM is configured for, or your router is not setup to respond to ICMP requests.  I suspect the latter, although when swapping between modem and router mode the IP address changes (and may do also if you're doing protracted router or hub fiddling).

As for the rest of the post, I can't comment until the images are approved (always better to post as text), and even then any with IP or MAC addresses won;t get approved, and anything that is a screenshot is at risk of being illegible if the resolution of the image is low.

Not 100% of the time, but usually VM will say they can't check connection status in modem mode and then won't book a technician (if that's needed), so only until the problem is fixed I suggest hub back in router mode, put your own router in access point mode, and you shouldn't then need to change any device connections or wifi settings.

Or, just phone up to cancel in the cooling off period, that threat is often enough to get a technician assigned.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
553 Views
Message 4 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Thanks for the response @Andrew-G. You're right, ICMP was disabled on the R8000, I've set that up now to get clearer information from ThinkBroadband monitoring.  I've setup the R8000 as an AP now as well just in case.

I'll post the details as individual replies now in the format @lotharmat asked too.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
552 Views
Message 5 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
227000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
0 Kudos
Reply
Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
551 Views
Message 6 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1227000000-437256 qam12
2139000000-1.937256 qam1
3147000000-237256 qam2
4155000000-2.237256 qam3
5163000000-2.237256 qam4
6171000000-2.537256 qam5
7179000000-2.937256 qam6
8187000000-337256 qam7
9195000000-3.237256 qam8
10203000000-3.537256 qam9
11211000000-3.537256 qam10
12219000000-3.938256 qam11
13235000000-438256 qam13
14243000000-437256 qam14
15251000000-4.238256 qam15
16259000000-4.437256 qam16
17267000000-4.437256 qam17
18275000000-4.538256 qam18
19283000000-5.537256 qam19
20291000000-5.437256 qam20
21299000000-4.537256 qam21
22307000000-438256 qam22
23315000000-438256 qam23
24323000000-4.238256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6270
2Locked37.6420
3Locked37.6390
4Locked37.3460
5Locked37.6350
6Locked37.3230
7Locked37.6230
8Locked37.3180
9Locked37.6320
10Locked37.6220
11Locked37.6160
12Locked38.6200
13Locked38.6400
14Locked37.3340
15Locked38.6260
16Locked37.6270
17Locked37.6450
18Locked38.6450
19Locked37.6710
20Locked37.6990
21Locked37.6460
22Locked38.9280
23Locked38.6360
24Locked38.6300
0 Kudos
Reply
Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
549 Views
Message 7 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000043512064 qam1
23940000042.5512064 qam4
34620000042.8512064 qam3
45370000043512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Goosh
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
548 Views
Message 8 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID12298
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID12297
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
547 Views
Message 9 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Nothing really jumping out in the downstream -



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
546 Views
Message 10 of 43
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Upgrade is a disaster - Slower speed than M200

Upstream also looks fine!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply