Menu
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
1,016 Views
Message 1 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Hi All

Anyone else moved to gig1 ? How long did it take to see a change in speed - speed test is showing no change, SamKnows is showing no change... so wondering if it takes time for the service to provision ?

I saw a huge increase in variability on throughput and latency. The graph below is from the line monitoring - you can see when the provision to 1G happened yesterday - before that throughput is a constant 550mbps flat line - after that it's all over the shop as is the latency.

48hr plot

Capture-plot.JPG 

 

5day plot

Capture-plot3.JPG

All connections are via Ethernet - No Wifi involved.

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.2K
  • 1.37K
  • 2.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
993 Views
Message 2 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Hello

Which hub do you have is it either a hub 3 or a hub 4 if you still have a hub 3 then that will not run for a 1gb service ?

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
984 Views
Message 3 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Hub 4 - everything attached to Gigabit switching. Port to port on network is 928,428Kbits with a <0msec latency (That's from iPerf so in reality is running at theoretical GE max of 940Mbps)

Hub 4 has been working since December with no issue on M500.

thanks 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.56K
  • 131
  • 295
Super solver
916 Views
Message 4 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

It might be a good start to upload your router stats and setup a BQM and we can see if anything is amiss 🙂

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

Do NOT log in, just click “Check Router Status” at the bottom of the page. Sometimes the “Check Router Status” is missing, in this case just go ahead and log in and go to Advanced Settings-> Tools-> Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again.

Do not try to fit everything in one post! You can use more than one post for each configuration tab if needed!

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph)

Copy the text in the “Direct Link” box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
N3m3sis1
  • 30
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
884 Views
Message 5 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Please try what I posted here. I switched from 600Mbs to 1Gb service and had the same issues until I did this. https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-Speeds-from-Hub4-to-PC-on-1Gb-s-A-partial-Solution-a...

Let me know how it goes

0 Kudos
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
690 Views
Message 6 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Apologies for the delay - All the details are here (Link is still topping out at 600Mbps unshaped)

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7127de4d8eef4786eb3842f1039978a0b94efcca

 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500006.137.4QAM2561
21467500005.437.4QAM2562
3154750000537.6QAM2563
41627500004.637.6QAM2564
51707500004.437.6QAM2565
61787500004.137.6QAM2566
71867500003.837.6QAM2567
81947500003.737.6QAM2568
92027500003.237.6QAM2569
102107500003.137.6QAM25610
112187500002.737.4QAM25611
122267500002.337.4QAM25612
132347500001.137.6QAM25613
142427500001.438.6QAM25614
152507500001.538.6QAM25615
16258750000239QAM25616
172667500001.538.6QAM25617
182747500001.238.6QAM25618
192827500000.638.6QAM25619
202907500000.438.6QAM25620
212987500000.338.6QAM25621
223067500000.138.6QAM25622
233147500000.538.6QAM25623
243227500000.338.6QAM25624
253307500001.138.6QAM25625
263387500000.738.6QAM25626
27346750000-0.738.6QAM25627
28354750000-1.438.6QAM25628
29362750000-1.838.6QAM25629
30370750000-1.538.6QAM25630
31378750000-2.139QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.35598800
2Locked37.35598800
3Locked37.63627600
4Locked37.63627600
5Locked37.63627600
6Locked37.63627600
7Locked37.63627600
8Locked37.63627600
9Locked37.63627600
10Locked37.63627600
11Locked37.35598800
12Locked37.35598800
13Locked37.63627600
14Locked38.60537700
15Locked38.60537700
16Locked38.98326100
17Locked38.60537700
18Locked38.60537700
19Locked38.60537700
20Locked38.60537710
21Locked38.60537700
22Locked38.60537700
23Locked38.60537700
24Locked38.60537700
25Locked38.60537700
26Locked38.60537700
27Locked38.60537700
28Locked38.60537700
29Locked38.60537710
30Locked38.60537700
31Locked38.98326100

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
689 Views
Message 7 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

General Configuration

Network access
true
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
true
DOCSIS Mode
3.1
Config file
cmreg-vmdg640-bbt076-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID
62896
Max Traffic Rate
1200000450
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID
62895
Max Traffic Rate
55000270
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
42600
Scheduling Type
bestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
688 Views
Message 8 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream

Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
31
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
1
0

 

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000048.35120 KSym/sec64QAM5
24620000051.35120 KSym/sec64QAM3
35370000052.35120 KSym/sec64QAM2
43940000049.55120 KSym/sec64QAM4



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0010
3US_TYPE_STDMA0010
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Thwaker
  • 24
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
687 Views
Message 9 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

Network LogTime Priority Description
Fri 09/04/2021 07:57:593No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 09/04/2021 07:58:026CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 33; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 09/04/2021 07:58:043No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 09/04/2021 07:58:296CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 33; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Mon 12/04/2021 12:58:044DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 18/04/2021 03:42:393No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Mon 19/04/2021 13:28:074DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:243No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 29/04/2021 10:39:395MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 29/04/2021 10:39:505RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 29/04/2021 10:40:276CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 4; Chan ID: 33; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: N/A.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:203No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.56K
  • 131
  • 295
Super solver
666 Views
Message 10 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just had Gig1 added to my service - Massive change in variability but no real speed increase

I don't see a 3.1 downstream channel. Your upload power levels are too high and your download power levels could do with being levelled out a bit, you would need an engineer to put right and so far your BQM is showing a lot of latency spikes which could be caused by the high upload power levels.

Best to ring Virgin on or just after 8am on 0345 454 1111 or 150 from a Virgin landline, alternatively you can wait here for a Virgin staff member to pick it up, but unfortunately this will typically be between 5-10 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later depending on how busy they are. If you decide to call it in it will run through a few automated options and after that ring back again and it should recognise that you have rang previously and then put you in the queue for a Virgin representative.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply