Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Broadband extension plug

Hi, my broadband works well but won’t reach my daughters room upstairs. We bought an extension router that she has plugged in. Although she now has a connection it cuts out all the time.

Any ideas please?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband extension plug

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-booster-troubleshooting

Try the above link , hope this helps

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Highlighted
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hi, are you talking about a repeater? 
if so where did you place it, and did it set up correctly with your virgin hub? If that was successful, the range extender needs to be in between the hub and your daughters room. 
ian 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

Highlighted
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 4 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hard reset both devices also try to change the ethernet cable. It could be damaged.

If I've helped in any way, please give me Kudos and mark my response as a helpful answer!

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how and you might just get it!

I am a serving Field Technician at Virgin however all responses on here are based on my experiences in the field alone and my own equipment at home and should be taken as such

Highlighted
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 5 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hello,

I am a Virgin Media technician (71786) Can you clarify the name of Your new extension router, Usually there are a number of ways in which You can handle Wifi around Your home.

1) You can go out and buy a high-end router which will expand the reach of Your wifi signal.