Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
752 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Hello.

Had engineer come out and replace SH2 to SH3 this week due to issues with the 5G.

Since then have been experiencing problems with the WiFi cutting out. I have an Xbox that is connected to a TP-Link powerline adapter through ethernet and this has been cutting out at the same time as the main network, so not just wireless.

I also have noticed that whenever I connect to the network on my phone it will say "Connected, no internet" for about 5-10 seconds before changing to "Connected". Not the biggest issue but didn't have this delay before.

So far I have done lots of reading and have tried disabling channel optimisation, created two separate SSIDs for 2/5G, made sure all cables and wires are firmly attached and have factory reset both the hub and my powerline adapter. None of this has helped.

 

Some stats:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1426750000-935256 qam28
2186750000-4.537256 qam7
3194750000-4.737256 qam8
4202750000-5.437256 qam9
5210750000-5.936256 qam10
6218750000-6.235256 qam11
7226750000-6.436256 qam12
8234750000-6.237256 qam13
9242750000-637256 qam14
10250750000-6.237256 qam15
11258750000-6.537256 qam16
12266750000-7.236256 qam17
13274750000-7.736256 qam18
14282750000-7.736256 qam19
15290750000-7.536256 qam20
16298750000-7.236256 qam21
17306750000-7.436256 qam22
18314750000-7.536256 qam23
19322750000-7.736256 qam24
20402750000-9.535256 qam25
21410750000-9.435256 qam26
22418750000-9.235256 qam27
23434750000-9.435256 qam29
24442750000-9.535256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked35.513968121
2Locked37.387210403
3Locked37.6119511109
4Locked37.373211289
5Locked36.339610595
6Locked35.746411305
7Locked36.650111394
8Locked37.640010663
9Locked37.323406589
10Locked37.35598411
11Locked37.328155818
12Locked36.64349641
13Locked36.663912360
14Locked36.643914183
15Locked36.647414127
16Locked36.370212661
17Locked36.648010873
18Locked36.36868677
19Locked36.322086944
20Locked35.711418348
21Locked35.524537016
22Locked35.725316871
23Locked35.78628968
24Locked35.711059072

 

Any suggestions/help would be appreciated. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
750 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Apologies couldn't post all stats in previous post:

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1357999614.825512064 qam6
2537000024.975512064 qam8
3274000264.825512064 qam7
4458000434.825512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2019 12:26:28noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
03/09/2019 12:29:6ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
03/09/2019 12:29:15noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
03/09/2019 12:31:8noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
05/09/2019 21:04:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/09/2019 11:07:16noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/09/2019 11:30:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.14K
  • 556
  • 1.2K
Legend
743 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Downstream power levels are way too low, minimum is -6. You need a technician visit to rectify, call customer services and report the problem. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
735 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Many thanks for speedy response, will get that done.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
621 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Just an update:

First time called yesterday advised to monitor.

Dropped out again today so called and was advised a booster would be sent out. When I said I already had a powerline adapter I was told that TP-Link is not compatible (even though worked on SH2). Also was told that a change was being made on their end that would improve power levels within 15 mins.

They didn't improve, so I called a third time to find out what was going on and was told to wait for the booster which would solve everything. When pressing the low power levels I was told something along the lines of whilst low, an engineer would not be able to help because they would come and see my network "was working" and then leave.

So there we have it. Will wait and see if get an improvement to the drop outs with the booster but not entirely convinved.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13.09K
  • 1.35K
  • 2.18K
Alessandro Volta
616 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

They are giving you the runaround. Only a tech visit can adjust your power levels. A VM staff person should pick this up in a day or so and sort it for you.
Alternatively, try calling “Retentions” on 150 or 0345 454 1111 - options 1-1-4-5 "Thinking of leaving" - they are open 8am until 10pm but calling early (between 08.00-11.00) is usually best, you will usually get a UK call centre who’s staff are more informed and helpful.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 37
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
614 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Do yourself a favour. Treat yourself to a quality router.

Know you shouldn’t have to but I had similar issues. Rock solid now . 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
593 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

I thought as much. Thanks very much for the advice.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.8K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.56K
Alessandro Volta
588 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

A new router will not solved the downstream power level issue, or the ethernet connection dropping.

You will need to resolve the downstream power level issue before looking at the wireless side.

Do you have a attenuator screwed into the back of the Hub?
If so, try removing it.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
533 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi cutting out and slower since SH3 upgrade

Thanks for response. I have checked today and there is no attenuator present.
0 Kudos
Reply