Menu
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
341 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Hi everyone,

Please excuse my ignorance of technical stuff-I do not have a clue!

Basically I have been working from home in a new job since September and since that time I have suffered loss of audio on calls both routed through the Cisco phone system and also when using Skype/Teams.  It can happen in the middle of a call and the person will either disappear completely or go incredibly quiet, sometimes it happens when dialling out so the phone system does its thing but I cannot hear the dial tone in my headset or when the person picks up, sometimes it happens when using the audio tuning wizard on the soft phone system-the "dings" will randomly go quiet or again disappear altogether.  Within either 20 seconds or 5 minutes it will come back again and it is very loud and clear.  Throughout all this-if on a call other people can hear me. 

There appears to be no rhyme or reason as to why this occurs and the computer/phone system guys at my work cannot find a reason on my PC/software so have said it must be to do with my home broadband.

I am connected to the Hub with an ethernet cable and I have recently installed a new one to eliminate the Hub as the culprit but since installing it one week ago it is still the same.

I am working over a VPN (?) and as it is a large organisation I have spoken numerous times with the relevant people but nobody can seem to shed any light on it and it is constantly being blamed on my home broadband.  NB the speeds have been some of the fastest we get when a 2 week speed checker was carried out-between 35mbps and 50mbps which for us is good so I cant see how speed would be an issue.

My partner is also working from home but he just has a laptop connected via wi fi-the kids are not generally home during the day but there is on occasion Netflix being streamed and then You Tube will be on when they get home after 3.30.

Has anybody got any ideas as I am googling and searching but cant seem to find anything!

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.57K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.06K
Alessandro Volta
336 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

The hub is a basic residential device and isn't made to do things like soft-phones etc.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.18K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
336 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

@kim-11 NB the speeds have been some of the fastest we get when a 2 week speed checker was carried out-between 35mbps and 50mbps which for us is good so I cant see how speed would be an issue.

What's your contracted speed?  When a VM connection is working properly you usually get your full speed, so I'm currently suspecting a connection fault.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
324 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Our contracted speed is 100mbps but we have never had anything close to that, well not in the last couple of years anyway.

Can you explain what is meant by connection issue?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.18K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
309 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Yep...ish.  The technology that carries internet traffic over a cable TV connection is complex, radio-frequency communication.  Sometimes the power levels that your hub communicates with the network get messed up, or radio frequency noise interferes with the signal.  To a modest extent, we can try and diagnose those problems from data you provide from the hub, that makes it easier to get a problem fixed, compared to calling the rather poor telephone support.

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  All we need is the contents of the three titled Downstream, Upstream, Network log, and you'll need to post the data as text, not screenshots.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can see if we can spot any obvious problems. Some times there aren't problems with the cable connection, and then we'd focus on the wireless connection, connected devices and so on.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Travelstar
  • 48
  • 2
  • 6
Dialled in
307 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Firstly it does sound like you might have some connectivity issues. Post your signal levels here if you can as that would be helpful to work out what is happening.

Secondly, you might want to consider placing the hub in modem mode and purchasing your own router that better supports things like VOIP.

I run a VOIP line at home without any issues whatsoever, but I doubt it would work without using my own router properly.

0 Kudos
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
242 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000003.940256 qam1
21470000003.740256 qam2
31550000003.240256 qam3
41630000002.740256 qam4
51710000002.240256 qam5
61790000001.740256 qam6
71870000001.540256 qam7
81950000001.540256 qam8
92030000001.240256 qam9
102110000001.240256 qam10
112190000001.240256 qam11
12227000000140256 qam12
132350000000.940256 qam13
142430000000.740256 qam14
152510000000.540256 qam15
162590000000.940256 qam16
172670000000.940256 qam17
182750000000.740256 qam18
192830000001.240256 qam19
202910000001.440256 qam20
21299000000140256 qam21
223070000000.740256 qam22
233150000000.540256 qam23
243230000000.740256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.311832525498
2Locked40.91100625488
3Locked40.9746624763
4Locked40.3900425080
5Locked40.9791026596
6Locked40.9762126001
7Locked40.3774033419
8Locked40.3666432701
9Locked40.9565231380
10Locked40.3590432036
11Locked40.392258345
12Locked40.3707831431
13Locked40.3612421738
14Locked40.3641021029
15Locked40.3767519184
16Locked40.31472219575
17Locked40.91968714189
18Locked40.3217154272
19Locked40.3224272964
20Locked40.3223313225
21Locked40.3225423363
22Locked40.9210744204
23Locked40.92033812517
24Locked40.9185014298
0 Kudos
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
241 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620015143.8512064 qam3
26030001044.5512064 qam1
33940010743.8512064 qam4
45370025344512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0040
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
240 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

TimePriorityDescription09/12/2020 11:52:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 11:52:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 11:52:17Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 11:52:12criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 11:52:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 11:52:11criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/12/2020 09:13:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/12/2020 21:29:47Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/12/2020 17:56:55noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/12/2020 17:56:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/12/2020 17:56:22noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/12/2020 11:03:12Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;06/12/2020 11:34:35ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;03/12/2020 03:26:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;29/11/2020 11:34:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;28/11/2020 12:57:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/11/2020 23:34:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;24/11/2020 03:32:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;22/11/2020 10:36:21ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;22/11/2020 10:07:41noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file

0 Kudos
Reply
kim-11
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
235 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VOIP issues using Cisco softphone and Hub 3

Hiya,

Thanks so much for your replies-here is the info you asked for.

Be great if you are able to make any sense out of it!

Thanks again

Kim

0 Kudos
Reply