Menu
Reply
Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
621 Views
Message 251 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Felim

Thankfully no, not that I have noticed. I am quietly hopeful but will need to give a couple more weeks to be sure. 

That first (and only) dropout and reboot was perhaps an update although it didn’t show in the logs. Strangely the logs every day or so go retro and visit 1970 for one entry, thankfully the network speeds have stayed solid at >500mb, 21st century speeds 😂

For reference when I had that particular dropout / Reboot SuperHub 3 issue, it was not at specific times, seemingly random but very regular through the day and night.

Best regards

Matrick

E7D681BA-061E-4DED-AB89-233F3A318093.jpeg

Felim_Doyle
  • 304
  • 0
  • 60
Fibre optic
602 Views
Message 252 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Matrick,

I see that you have had a couple of visits to 1970 which is worrying. The firmware in these routers is extremely flaky but inconsistently so which is disturbing.

How is the time value becoming zero?

Is it a memory overwrite? This is something that that I suspect is happening all over the SH3 firmware.

Is it a failed read from the system clock / system interrupt gone wrong?

Whatever it is, it's indicative of poor software design / development and even poorer quality control.

This is what brings aircraft down!

Félim
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
0 Kudos
Reply
Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
596 Views
Message 253 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Felim

When I first checked the logs I could see one 1970 and the May 2022 log entries and assumed these were testing records. However there is a 1970 record sandwiched between the June entries so it does beg the question as you say.

Assuming the drop out issue doesn’t come back I’ll live with it of course… fingers firmly crossed again. 

Matrick 

Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
595 Views
Message 254 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Ps. don’t fly Virgin 🤣

0 Kudos
Reply
Reece_MH
  • 1.38K
  • 58
  • 137
Forum Team
Forum Team
565 Views
Message 255 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi @Matrick,

I'm glad to see things are running smoothly so far, please keep us updated. In regards to the 1970 log, I'll pass this over to our Equipment Team to take a look at - it may simply be visual glitch as this is not a known issue to be affecting any services across our network.

There's always one benefit from this.. we're not an aircraft 😏 As I mentioned before, please keep us updated if you begin to have the same issues.

Cheers,

Reece - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
562 Views
Message 256 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Thanks Reece 👍🏼😊

So far no more drop outs and reboot, since that one instance, so I am still cautiously optimistic and enjoying the steady connection.

Best regards

Matrick

Felim_Doyle
  • 304
  • 0
  • 60
Fibre optic
547 Views
Message 257 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently


@Reece_MH wrote:

Hi @Matrick,

There's always one benefit from this.. we're not an aircraft 😏 As I mentioned before, please keep us updated if you begin to have the same issues.

Cheers,


Equally so, Reece, having SuperHub 3/4/5s operating reliably and correctly diagnosing and rectifying broadband faults isn't exactly rocket science either!

Félim
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
0 Kudos
Reply
Kain_W
  • 2.82K
  • 85
  • 188
Forum Team
Forum Team
515 Views
Message 258 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Thanks for the response Felim_Doyle,

Can I ask are you still facing issues yourself?

Let us know,

Kain
0 Kudos
Reply
Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
488 Views
Message 259 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Well it’s another week and I haven’t noticed a single dropout / reboot. This issue does appear does to be resolved.

Assuming things continue well and no similar issues start after an update, then it does appear that the engineer was correct in that old SuperHub 3s will very often be problematic when operating at faster speeds.

Thanks all for the assistance 

Felim_Doyle
  • 304
  • 0
  • 60
Fibre optic
471 Views
Message 260 of 291
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently


@Kain_W wrote:

Thanks for the response Felim_Doyle,

Can I ask are you still facing issues yourself?

Let us know,


Yes Kain,

I have reduced the impact somewhat by giving my mobile phones and tablets static IP addresses but I am still suffering loss of service due to the reboot of the SH3 during the night and the recovery time for the Wi-Fi after the reboot is still excessive.

Félim
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
0 Kudos
Reply