Menu
Reply
Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
276 Views
Message 191 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Nat and Kath

I think I spoke too soon, the SuperHub is gradually starting to drop out again. I noticed once yesterday and twice today so far. I also noticed Network speeds dropping at times (upload and download, starting Thursday), current download speeds of only 120Mb some time after re-boot and it has never been this low, in case it's relevant.

I have pasted the network logs below. Any thoughts?

Thank

Mattt

 

Time

Priority

Description

02/04/2022 12:57:24

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:57:23

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:57:23

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:57:23

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:56:59

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:56:59

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/04/2022 12:56:15

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 20:05:16

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 20:04:22

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 20:03:9

critical

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:59:9

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:59:9

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:59:9

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:59:6

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:58:54

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:58:54

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:58:21

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:58:21

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:58:21

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/04/2022 19:57:37

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Yorkypudding
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
268 Views
Message 192 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi 

As I posted last June in my opinion all these issues are down to a faulty Hub design and no amount of tweaking and resetting will cure the problem. Insist on getting one of the new Hubs I did and have had no issues since.

Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
261 Views
Message 193 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Thanks for the feedback YorkyP

If I am honest I would very much like to try a new SuperHub. If anything it rules it in or out as part of a systematic process of elimination.

Hi Kath and Nat,

Is this something that could be arranged as part of this process?

Thanks

Matrick
SCA1972
  • 6.13K
  • 673
  • 2.14K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
245 Views
Message 194 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

@Matrick The only way to guarantee a newer hub is to subscribe to the 1 Gig tier as that requires a Hub 4.

You might want to have a look on this forum about the number of complaints there are about the Hub 4, they far outweigh any issues that are related to the Hub 3. I would not go with the anecdotal evidence of one user. I’m not saying the Hub 3 is perfect, and they can develop faults, but the issues you are describing are not typical of a working Hub 3.

The issue is far more likely to be related to your line than the hub, which a Hub 4 would not fix.

In addition to the log could you post the downstream and upstream power level figures from the hub? If not I’m sure one of the forum team will be along shortly and can run tests.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV 360 box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
238 Views
Message 195 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Thanks 

Useful feedback, good to know how my issues do not sound like typical hub faults, appreciated.

Power levels are listed below, good suggestion.

Thanks

Matrick

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1266750000-140256 qam17
2138750000-0.740256 qam1
3146750000-1.440256 qam2
4154750000-1.540256 qam3
5162750000-1.540256 qam4
6170750000-1.239256 qam5
7178750000-1.240256 qam6
8186750000-1.240256 qam7
9194750000-1.240256 qam8
10202750000-140256 qam9
11210750000-140256 qam10
12218750000-0.740256 qam11
13226750000-0.940256 qam12
14234750000-140256 qam13
15242750000-140256 qam14
16250750000-1.240256 qam15
17258750000-140256 qam16
18274750000-1.440256 qam18
19282750000-1.240256 qam19
20290750000-1.240256 qam20
21298750000-1.240256 qam21
22306750000-0.940256 qam22
23314750000-0.740256 qam23
24322750000-0.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.311864350
2Locked40.96480411144941
3Locked40.32046385714
4Locked40.3918271743
5Locked40.9962221890
6Locked39.8802541627
7Locked40.9738861096
8Locked40.9819001369
9Locked40.368282539
10Locked40.35294997
11Locked40.34255254
12Locked40.92769239
13Locked40.92860741
14Locked40.32739838
15Locked40.31599627
16Locked40.31495137
17Locked40.31690933
18Locked40.91443330
19Locked40.31243922
20Locked40.9649226
21Locked40.3793924
22Locked40.9703622
23Locked40.3483721
24Locked40.3822925

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000046.3512064 qam11
24620000046.8512064 qam7
33940000046.8512064 qam8
42580003045.8512064 qam12



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_T
  • 949
  • 28
  • 98
Forum Team
Forum Team
220 Views
Message 196 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Matrick, 

Sorry to hear of your issues with your Hub. Having had a look on our systems today I have been unable to identify any issues with the signals coming into your hub from the network exchange, everything seems well within spec. 

Sadly as you are running the hub in modem mode we are unable to run several of the tests we would usually that can identify any issues with speeds or drop outs. Would you be able to run your hub setup in router mode for a couple of days so we can get some further readings to identify any issues with your equipment?

Sadly we cannot guarantee a new hub, if we can identify a fault that requires a technician we will get one booked in for you, and they will be able to replace the hub for you if needed in the appointment. 

All the best. 

Molly
Felim_Doyle
  • 294
  • 0
  • 51
Fibre optic
212 Views
Message 197 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

My SuperHub 3 has been rebooting regularly at night between midnight and 1AM GMT (1AM and 2AM BST). Since having a TV 360 box foisted on me instead of the V6 box that I was expecting as a replacement for my trusty TiVo box, TV viewing and recording has relied on the broadband connection instead of its own 10Mb/s separate link and number of other devices and services are also interrupted while the router restarts which is taking ten minutes now from loss of connection to re-establishment of service as against the four minutes that it used to take, not that it should be rebooting at all.

When I originally contacted VM about it in 2020, they said that I had low signal levels and suggested running a new Siamese Twin cable (co-ax and telephone). The 'engineers' turned up five hours earlier than expected which left me without broadband and telephone for the couple of hours in the morning that I had scheduled for business purposes (phone calls, video calls, remote working) as I knew that I would have no service in the afternoon. I'm in a bad signal area for all of the mobile networks and I rely heavily on Voice over Wi-Fi for my business (Virgin Mobile) and personal (Three) mobile phones so I couldn't easily contact colleagues to reschedule meetings etc. and I couldn't even watch television in lieu of work.

The 'engineers' seemingly couldn't remove the old cable from the green ducting to fit the new one but did rip up our crazy paving in the process then made an attempt to cover up the damage with some poorly mixed cement.

So they laid the new cable without ducting, incorrectly routed into the junction box on the wall so that the cover didn't close which blew into the garden within minutes of them leaving. When I went to refit the cover and secure it with a cable-tie I discovered that they had stripped away far too much insulation from the telephone wires and left them shorted out so that I had no landline service. Actually, Gel-Fill compression connectors don't require the insulation to be removed at all as they penetrate the insulation when compressed and the gel forms a weatherproof seal. Any telephone engineer would know this and anyone working with these connectors certainly should.

Despite all of this, the router still reboots at night interrupting TV services and other equipment in my home.

If you want other examples try this in your favourite search engine:-

site:reddit.com Virgin hub reboot

Félim
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
0 Kudos
Reply
Alex_RM
  • 6.24K
  • 326
  • 459
Forum Team
Forum Team
184 Views
Message 198 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Felim_Doyle,

 

Thanks for posting, and sorry to hear you are still experiencing some issues with your connection.

 

I've been able to take a look at things from our side, and it looks like an engineer is required. 

 

So I can arrange this I'll need to confirm a few details with you, I've popped you over a private message for this (purple envelope, top right hand corner)

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply
Matrick
  • 46
  • 0
  • 27
Dialled in
176 Views
Message 199 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi Molly

Thanks for the reply

I have been monitoring and it seems to drop out once a day, so it currently isn't getting worse.

I can in theory test outside of Modem Mode but cannot afford the time at this moment to reconfigure all the devices unless I really have to. So I shall monitor things for another week and see what is happening

 

Regards

 

Matrick

0 Kudos
Reply
Travis_M
  • 3.14K
  • 111
  • 232
Forum Team
Forum Team
159 Views
Message 200 of 261
Flag for a moderator

Re: Super Hub 3 reboots / resets itself frequently

Hi @Matrick

 

Thank you for your reply

 

Please do keep us updated with how you get on over the next week and we can investigate further from here.

 

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide