Menu
Reply
mrhcarlin
  • 43
  • 0
  • 8
On our wavelength
455 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

I'm admittedly jumping the gun a bit here because it's literally just happened and I should probably wait until the morning, but I wanted to get the ball rolling just in case.

At about 22:30 we lost Internet, and then the Hub started flashing in different ways.

  • Solid green WiFi light. (This doesn't seem to change.) Connecting to the WiFi is still possible.
  • Base light will flash green for several seconds, while the Internet light stays off.
  • Base light will go solid green, while the Internet light flashes green for several seconds.

I rebooted the Hub manually, even waited for a couple minutes to let it cool, but no dice. Nothing has interfered with the Hub and the coax cable is firm.

Any ideas?

Internet access says "Access denied" on the Hub admin page.

Time Priority Description

06/05/2021 23:29:44Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:29:38ErrorRCS Primary DS Failure;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:29:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:29:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:28:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:28:48ErrorRCS Primary DS Failure;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:28:48criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:28:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:27:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:27:39noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:27:37ErrorRCS Primary DS Failure;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:27:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:27:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:26:55Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:26:49ErrorRCS Primary DS Failure;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:26:49criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:26:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:26:5Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:25:59ErrorRCS Primary DS Failure;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 23:25:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
mrhcarlin
  • 43
  • 0
  • 8
On our wavelength
437 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Ok so I turned off the Hub for about 15 minutes, re-tightened the coax at both ends just to make doubly sure, and then after turning it back on I've got Internet again (after the usual millennia that it takes for the Hub to properly come back online). Knock wood that it doesn't go weird again!

Curious to know now what might have caused that "blip" though...

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
404 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Could be noise preventing a connection!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
mrhcarlin
  • 43
  • 0
  • 8
On our wavelength
389 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Like electronic devices, wires, power cables etc near the Hub, or something on the line out of my control? My Hub does sit next to a surge protector and is fairly close to my TV, but I've had it this way for months without any similar issues.

Is there any way to know for sure what it could be (and hopefully fix it) or will I have to live in fear that my Hub could randomly go on the fritz again? 😛

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
387 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

It'll be worth posting up your Hub stats! (Upstream and Downstream)

If it is a noise issue - you'll likely see it in there!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
mrhcarlin
  • 43
  • 0
  • 8
On our wavelength
385 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1139000000-437256 qam1
2147000000-4.237256 qam2
3155000000-4.737256 qam3
4163000000-537256 qam4
5171000000-5.236256 qam5
6179000000-5.537256 qam6
7187000000-5.536256 qam7
8195000000-5.537256 qam8
9203000000-5.736256 qam9
10211000000-5.736256 qam10
11219000000-5.936256 qam11
12227000000-636256 qam12
13235000000-636256 qam13
14243000000-6.236256 qam14
15251000000-6.436256 qam15
16259000000-6.936256 qam16
17267000000-736256 qam17
18275000000-6.536256 qam18
19283000000-637256 qam19
20291000000-637256 qam20
21299000000-6.236256 qam21
22307000000-6.237256 qam22
23315000000-637256 qam23
24323000000-6.237256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6230
2Locked37.6490
3Locked37.3420
4Locked37.3430
5Locked36.6380
6Locked37.3220
7Locked36.6310
8Locked37.3200
9Locked36.6170
10Locked36.6220
11Locked36.6290
12Locked36.6270
13Locked36.6290
14Locked36.6290
15Locked36.6250
16Locked36.3470
17Locked36.6270
18Locked36.6210
19Locked37.3190
20Locked37.3190
21Locked36.6290
22Locked37.3240
23Locked37.3370
24Locked37.3340

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030032250512064 qam1
24620028349.8512064 qam3
33940006350512064 qam4
45370001949.8512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
377 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Downstream power looks to be a little low - (should be within -6 to 10 dBmV)

Do you know if you have any attenuators fitted?



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 32.63K
  • 2.02K
  • 4.46K
Alessandro Volta
376 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing

Downstream power levels are too low and upstream on the verge of being too high.

Unless there's an area issue you'll need an engineer.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
mrhcarlin
  • 43
  • 0
  • 8
On our wavelength
364 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly lost Internet and Hub 3 now flashing


@gary_dexter wrote:
Downstream power levels are too low and upstream on the verge of being too high.

Unless there's an area issue you'll need an engineer.

What's the best way to go about this? Last year when there were issues affecting several postcodes near me, it took almost a week to resolve with the typical "we can't see any issues currently" spiel, so I don't have much hope for getting a potentially isolated issue resolved.


@lotharmat wrote:
Downstream power looks to be a little low - (should be within -6 to 10 dBmV)

Do you know if you have any attenuators fitted?

Yes, there's a 6dB attenuator fitted to the coax just before it goes into the Hub.

---

I don't know if it makes a difference to my apparent power issues (or if this even effects it), but besides last night my connection is always stable and I get good latency and jitter when testing with https://librespeed.org/ and good download speeds in general

0 Kudos
Reply