Menu
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
407 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent problem with wifi

I've had intermittent problems with wired/wireless connection to the router for a couple of weeks now.  Occasionally the connection drops out for half an hour or so (on 23/05/2022 it was for over 3 hours).  

I know there are rules about quality of service and when you can get refunds but working on what should be a reliable wired system providing 500Mb/s should be straightforward and consistent.  I sometimes have to work from home and that is via wired too, so it should also be reliable.  

I currently pay over £100 a month for what should be a decent quality of service, but at the moment I am just not getting that.  I have rebooted the hub several times but nothing seems to work for a continued period of time.  Intermittent broadband failures, occasional TV outages.  

And the VirginMedia help is absolutely USELESS.  There is NO way to get an engineer to come and look at the setup if the system is currently working.  And (because I live in a mobile blackspot) there's no easy way of requesting one when it's not, as I DON'T HAVE ACCESS!  And phoning is also a waste of time, as they never actually seem to be able to help.

Seriously considering moving on from VirginMedia despite the broadband/O2 boost etc via Volt, as 500Mb/s is only good if it actually works.

0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
404 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Typo in the message - should have read 22/05, not 23/05

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
373 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Lets see the connection data - can you do this....
_________________________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) (DONT click these links) - and hit return. On the first page up dont login (unless you have the Hub4/5 - when you do login) just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle (Hub3/4) or top/right (SH’s) of the Login page and then Navigate to these “pages” and just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 tables from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again. If character limits are “exceeded” - just do two posts

If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph”. Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate. Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see. On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon) In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
343 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Downstream:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1658250000-2.538256 qam36
2458250000-0.740256 qam13
3466250000-0.740256 qam14
4474250000-0.740256 qam15
5482250000-0.940256 qam16
6490250000-138256 qam17
7498250000-1.240256 qam18
8506250000-1.240256 qam19
9514250000-1.540256 qam20
10522250000-240256 qam21
11530250000-240256 qam22
12538250000-338256 qam23
13546250000-2.738256 qam24
14554250000-338256 qam25
15562250000-338256 qam26
16570250000-3.540256 qam27
17578250000-3.538256 qam28
18586250000-3.238256 qam29
19594250000-3.240256 qam30
20602250000-3.538256 qam31
21610250000-438256 qam32
22618250000-3.238256 qam33
23626250000-438256 qam34
24634250000-2.938256 qam35



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9429411
2Locked40.37217027
3Locked40.3106496
4Locked40.3218586
5Locked40.9260573
6Locked38.999686
7Locked40.9744416
8Locked40.384997
9Locked40.3864371
10Locked40.3864425
11Locked40.3994474
12Locked38.91864542
13Locked38.91654468
14Locked38.920404911
15Locked38.922115110
16Locked40.322345213
17Locked38.620705171
18Locked38.919045150
19Locked40.318665108
20Locked38.919595029
21Locked38.921725149
22Locked38.919264859
23Locked38.923314664
24Locked38.647564846

 

Upstream: 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000046.8512064 qam1
25370000046.3512064 qam2
33940000046512064 qam4
44620000045.8512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA001080
2ATDMA001840
3ATDMA003350
4ATDMA001890
0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
341 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

03/06/2022 15:11:54

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 11:03:19

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 11:02:55

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 11:02:55

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:56:30

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:56:6

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:56:6

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:50:54

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:50:40

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:50:40

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:49:23

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:49:18

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:49:18

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:49:16

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:48:59

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:48:59

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:43:52

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:43:28

critical

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 10:43:28

critical

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2022 07:49:51

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=YY:YY:YY:YY:YY:YY;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
338 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Post the link to the BQM as soon as. Logs look odd - but I am no expert on them.

Power levels are all OK - errors may be a concern or just "historical accumulation" - so can you do this.
_____________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax and ethernet cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS and T3 ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
311 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

ea4384e52ff23c54acb8123a899778beb7c50c51.png

0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
310 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

These figures cover the last 2-3 days since I last rebooted/reset the hub.  I've fought long and hard about getting an engineer out to look at this but it's like trying to get blood out of a stone.

Actually raised a complaint today as this has gone on for FAR too long.

Thanks for your help so far...

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.1K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
300 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Your image is rejected as it contains your ip address. You need to blank it out or better - post a link to "Share live Graph" and that autostrips it out.

That said, first few hours look fine with no evidence of disconnects. You said that wired connections were affected. So what equipment exactly, do you have connected to the Hub on ethernet cables?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
AndyP2609
  • 37
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
286 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent problem with wifi

Yes, connected via ethernet cable to hub.

0 Kudos
Reply