Menu
Reply
whitedragon
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
461 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent broadband

Hello,

I'm writing here, having previously called the customer service, but getting stuck in the restart / reset to factory defaults loop.

My connection has been intermittent for the last couple of days. 

40c7f102ee5802e8277eefddbe8ec1cb3280c7ea-09-06-2021

I get lots of SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync followed by RCS Partial Service errors at the time when above happens.

The errors below accumulated over 12 hours.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1323000000038256 qam24
2203000000-2.736256 qam9
3211000000-5.436256 qam10
4219000000-4.436256 qam11
5227000000-2.736256 qam12
6235000000-2.737256 qam13
7243000000-1.738256 qam14
8251000000-1.538256 qam15
9259000000-0.538256 qam16
10267000000-0.538256 qam17
11275000000-138256 qam18
12283000000-0.538256 qam19
13291000000-0.238256 qam20
14299000000038256 qam21
153070000000.538256 qam22
16315000000-0.538256 qam23
173310000000.438256 qam25
18339000000-0.238256 qam26
19347000000-0.738256 qam27
20355000000-1.238256 qam28
21363000000038256 qam29
223710000000.738256 qam30
23379000000038256 qam31
24387000000037256 qam32


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.646478127741
2Locked36.673122229335
3Locked36.373853254318
4Locked36.369402251516
5Locked36.362784198906
6Locked37.663706198753
7Locked38.664662180725
8Locked38.960927155136
9Locked38.655416132378
10Locked38.953783134654
11Locked38.653535143217
12Locked38.952728133590
13Locked38.648416125948
14Locked38.647078111355
15Locked38.944471117620
16Locked38.645055142371
17Locked38.641656114075
18Locked38.642254113230
19Locked38.642270136536
20Locked38.947641126225
21Locked38.64642084277
22Locked38.64151873500
23Locked38.64136879646
24Locked37.33891981854

 

I'm in area 31. This has been happening over the last couple of days, especially in the mornings and evenings.

I am using Hub 3.0 in modem mode - with my own router. At this point I've restarted, reset and reconfigured everything. I've tried replacing cable between the hub and the wall socket. I've tried replacing cables between the Hub and the router. I've tried interfacing with the Hub directly.

I can provide additional information, if necessary.

Help, please.

___________________________
My Broadband Ping - Virgin at Home
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 25.21K
  • 2.61K
  • 4.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
450 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

BQM looks awful. Can you clear the RS errors as below - and also post the upstream data.
___________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a few minutes and then start up. When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
risc19
  • 566
  • 21
  • 158
Rising star
449 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Hello,

 

Not looking good there buddy.

Can you post the upload info from your hub as well?

Have you checked for faults in your area?

The pic has not been approved jet, is it a BQM from think broadband?

If not you should start one.

My Broadband Ping - Gig1 Modem Mode  Asus RT-AX82U
whitedragon
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
447 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Thanks for the fast reply!

The RS counts are almost always this high. I rebooted the Hub multiple times already, they reset every time, but get high rather quickly - they reach tens of thousands within two to three minutes after the reboot.

Here's the upstream data:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000051512064 qam2
24620000049.8512064 qam3
33940000051512064 qam4
46030000051512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

@risc19 Yes, the image is BQM: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/40c7f102ee5802e8277eefddbe8ec1cb32...

I've checked for faults multiple times - it says all is good, once it said to reboot the Hub.

___________________________
My Broadband Ping - Virgin at Home
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 25.21K
  • 2.61K
  • 4.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
442 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

You need a VM person to look at the connection - I will ask one of them to come here and comment

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Zoie_P
  • 3.15K
  • 143
  • 250
Forum Team
Forum Team
404 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Hi Whitedragon, 

Thanks for your post 🙂
I am so sorry to hear you are having issues as our helpful VIP @jbrennand has flagged this to our attention, I can see there are issues on your upstream and downstream and we will need to book a tech, I will pop you over a pm and we can go from there

(Keep an eye out for the purple envelope)
Zoie

Zoie_P
  • 3.15K
  • 143
  • 250
Forum Team
Forum Team
324 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent broadband

Thanks for mesaaging with me whitedaragon, 

Please let us know how your visit goes with the engineer and how your service is afterward.

If you want to view or change your appointment you can do so here, select the tab that says "Help" then from there you can view orders and appointments if you wish to rearrange or cancel or even double-check the time 

Zoie

whitedragon
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
116 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Hi everyone,

Unfortunately, I have to re-open this topic. The engineer who visited me told me, that I wasn't the only one on my street, who has this problem. He changed a few things inside the socket, which improved the power levels. I have no idea what he has done outside. At the end of the day, it helped for a bit - I had a few weeks of peace, but now we're back to the square one.

Here's some BQM graphs:

05-08-2021 06-08-2021 11-08-2021 21-08-2021 22-08-2021 24-08-2021 06-09-2021 

It seems to be happening randomly. Sometimes it's just a latency issue, sometimes it just drops the entire connection every few seconds or minutes.

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency	Power	SNR	Modulation	Channel ID
1   	323000000	8.1   	40	256 qam 	24
2   	203000000	8   	40	256 qam 	9
3   	211000000	7.5   	40	256 qam 	10
4   	219000000	7.6   	40	256 qam 	11
5   	227000000	7.5   	40	256 qam 	12
6   	235000000	7.1   	40	256 qam 	13
7   	243000000	7.1   	40	256 qam 	14
8   	251000000	6.5   	40	256 qam 	15
9   	259000000	6.5   	38	256 qam 	16
10   	267000000	7   	40	256 qam 	17
11   	275000000	7.1   	40	256 qam 	18
12   	283000000	7.9   	40	256 qam 	19
13   	291000000	7.9   	40	256 qam 	20
14   	299000000	8   	38	256 qam 	21
15   	307000000	8.5   	40	256 qam 	22
16   	315000000	7.9   	40	256 qam 	23
17   	331000000	8   	38	256 qam 	25
18   	339000000	7.5   	38	256 qam 	26
19   	347000000	7.9   	38	256 qam 	27
20   	355000000	7.6   	38	256 qam 	28
21   	363000000	7.8   	38	256 qam 	29
22   	371000000	7.4   	38	256 qam 	30
23   	379000000	6   	38	256 qam 	31
24   	387000000	5.9   	38	256 qam 	32

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked	RxMER	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1   	Locked	40.3	25342   	43140
2   	Locked	40.3	34464   	75110
3   	Locked	40.9	34192   	77751
4   	Locked	40.3	32242   	74865
5   	Locked	40.3	30582   	62763
6   	Locked	40.3	30571   	63875
7   	Locked	40.9	31599   	65585
8   	Locked	40.3	31476   	54289
9   	Locked	38.9	29865   	46278
10   	Locked	40.3	28224   	47594
11   	Locked	40.3	29229   	54412
12   	Locked	40.3	28659   	51075
13   	Locked	40.3	27465   	41845
14   	Locked	38.9	26139   	38506
15   	Locked	40.3	25271   	45246
16   	Locked	40.3	25772   	52217
17   	Locked	38.9	24103   	36535
18   	Locked	38.6	23947   	42373
19   	Locked	38.9	24672   	49997
20   	Locked	38.9	25508   	39773
21   	Locked	38.9	24306   	28718
22   	Locked	38.6	23854   	29509
23   	Locked	38.9	25090   	33422
24   	Locked	38.6	25040   	32402

Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency	Power	Symbol Rate	Modulation	Channel ID
1   	53699956	40.8	5120    	64 qam  	2
2   	46200143	40.3	5120    	64 qam  	3
3   	39400020	40.3	5120    	64 qam  	4
4   	60299981	41.8	5120    	64 qam  	1

Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1   	ATDMA	0       	0       	2       	0
2   	ATDMA	0       	0       	0       	0
3   	ATDMA	0       	0       	0       	0
4   	ATDMA	0       	0       	1       	0

Please help?

___________________________
My Broadband Ping - Virgin at Home
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 5.02K
  • 270
  • 820
Superstar
102 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

There is still something seriously wrong with your feed, to produce so many uncorrected errors. 

If the technician said others in the area were equally bad he should have reported it as an area problem,  to be corrected by now.

Perhaps a VM person on here can check for any known issues in your area.

Tom_F
  • 3.71K
  • 225
  • 481
Forum Team
Forum Team
39 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Sorry to hear that issues are ongoing for you whitedragon. It doesn't look like any are issues were raised, but as helpfully advised above there's definitely more errors in the logs than we'd like to see normally.

 

We'll need to arrange a follow-up visit with a senior engineer who will be able to double-check everything over and escalate any potential wider issues - please look out for my PM and we'll get that sorted out.

 

Tom