cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IPLAYER AND VPN

terri_keith
Tuning in

I can’t play on my tvs the iplayer it’s asking if I’m on a VPN as far as I’m aware I’m not 

how do I check this 

11 REPLIES 11

g0akc
Problem sorter

Check what your public IP is and what ISP or company it's registered as, and where it is apparently located.  Does it show as UK?

Try a site like this

https://whatismyipaddress.com/

(Don't tell us your IP address)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

Hey thank u for replying yes it shows as Belfast 😞 I don’t know what to do 

用心棒
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

FYI: Why does BBC iPlayer think I'm outside the UK? | iPlayer help and should the issue persists follow the advice to contact the BBC for further help.

-- 
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more
Have I helped? Click helpful.jpeg Mark as Helpful Answer and solved, or use thanks.jpeg Kudos to say thanks

@terri_keith wrote:

Hey thank u for replying yes it shows as Belfast 😞 I don’t know what to do 

Okay. Are you actually in NI?  Which town are you in?

It might be that the database the BBC are using shows your IP address as elsewhere.  It may correct itself within a few days.  Follow the link in reply 4 and contact the BBC if necessary.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!

Yeah they sent me links I don’t know how to check if I have a vpn they think could be that too