cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 5x modem Mode with Asus Ax5400 router

Mnm2397
Tuning in

Hi,

I'm new to VM and have just had their new Hub 5x and 1Gig broadband installed.

I am wanting to use my own router I've just purchased the Asus AX5400 mainly so I can setup express VPN. But also for better connection as I'm experiencing quite a few lag spikes and crashes when gaming.

If I connect the Asus to the VM with its factory settings I'm able to connect to the internet via my Asus router however when I set the Hub 5x to Modem mode the WAN light stays red with no internet connection and on the Asus dashboard it says "your ISPs DHCP does not function properly.

Steps I took

1. Login to Hub 5x and enable modem mode, apply changes then waited 5/10 mins for them to be applied.

2. Connect ethernet to port 4 10gbps

3. Reboot Hub 5x connect ethernet from Hub 5x to wan port on Asus router and power it up.

4. Set Asus WAN Type to DHCP

After doing this the light remains red on the WAN is there something I need to do with the VM Hub5x to allow an internet connection to my Asus router?

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

JTC652
On our wavelength

The 5x hub does not support modem mode at present, the URL that has appeared on here points the hub to none functional firmware so prevents a connection. 

Modem mode is a ‘coming soon’ feature, there is a discussion on the community about it, sorry don’t have a link. 

That's a shame, I have just purchased the Asus AX5400 hopefully it's here soon as I've had nothing but issues since switch from EE

Client62
Legend

Return or configure the Asus AX5400 in Access Point mode until the situation with the Hub 5x changes.

The super vague "nothing but issues" reads like issues with the underlying XGS-PON connection, you might what to get focused on resolving that before muddling the situation with additional kit.

legacy1
Alessandro Volta

Don't configure the Asus in Access Point keep it in router mode