Menu
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
520 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

The Hub 4 WiFi experience has been dreadful. I previously posted “Hub4 1GB intermittent WIFI. Connection unstable. Speeds all over the place” as the service, using WiFi, dropped out, especially when video conferencing (eg zoom/googlemeet…),  was inconsistent and unreliable. Re-setting multiple times did not provide a solution. PODS did not improve the speed nor reliability.  I decided to connect directly with an ethernet cable. I have done this with 2 different PC’s both running W10 from different manufacturers and with all drivers up to date. I have used 3 different ethernet cables (2 x Cat 6 and 1 x Cat 7) and connected each, in turn, to Port 4 and removed all other ethernet connections from the hub and disconnected WiFi. And tested on couple of different browsers. The speed tests were not all to the same target as the servers used are found automatically. The results are below using Ookla and Virgin approved ‘SamKnows .  

ISSUE 1: Speeds into Hub INCONSISTENT & TOO OFTEN BELOW VIRGIN THRESHOLD or ZERO

Speed into the Hub 4 varies and is often sub 500 Mbps or gives an error message that the router could not be found. SamKnows speeds into the Hub ranged from a low of 387 to a high of 926Mbps over the last few days. This fluctuating speed is not new. On 16/8 the speed ranged from a low of 253 to a high of 1029 Mbps.

AmMin_1-1631531546265.png

On 13/09 morning I re-set the hub given this is a typical request. Removed all ethernet cables. Turned off and removed power cable. Waited roughly 10 minutes before reconnecting. Disconnected WiFi. Added ethernet cable. Here’s what happened. Speed into the Hub ranged from an error message to 999 Mbps and through 203 to 335 Mbps….

AmMin_2-1631531785432.png

Questions:

  • What is happening so that the speeds are so consistently below 1 Gbps or even 500Mbps or that the router is not recognised?    
  • f I put Virgin Hub 4 into modem mode and get a WiFi 6 router with ports that are 1Gbps or higher (as i know I have a WiFi issue and a PC with WiFi 6 drivers) will that solve things or is there an underlying issue that requires fixing first?

ISSUE 2: Speeds out of the Hub TOO SLOW Using Ethernet Cables

Between 10 and 12/09 SamKnows speeds to my PC were between a low of 178 to a high of 292 Mbps (except when not recognizing the router when it was zero) and has shown consistently low speeds out to our devices.  Ookla was between a low of 112 to a high of 384 Mpbs with uploads between 35 to 47Mbps.  This is using ethernet cables.   

After re-setting hub on 13/09 and using an ethernet cable SamKnows speeds were 283 to 346 Mbps and Ookla was 130 to 341 Mbps on one pc and 953Mbps once before further test results at 441 and 481 Mbps on the other pc.    

This proves high speeds are possible but are simply not happening.  None of the speeds get anywhere near 1Gbps service on a consistent basis.

Note: I do not know if the service drops, especially on zoom, if I used an ethernet cable instead of WiFi, but that solution would be 100% impractical as the hub/router is in the wrong place for working tethered to a cable. I also do not know if the drop outs and buffering occur on all devices at once as they are not all in use at once.

Questions

  • What stops my service from delivering +900Mbps through a tethered cable? 
  • What is needed to make sure the hub is doing what it should do?

Other

I shall update the issues with WiFi and can share the BQM and router logs on my first post. 

Many thanks for all your help in advance.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
480 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Here's the BQM.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/da49016b81d55bad0edadde6f67d31db86ce693e

Are you able to see all the data since the start of this month from this link of just today's data?

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.66K
  • 247
  • 680
Community elder
447 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

BQM looks a bit spiky and you have the exact drop off at 0200 this morning that I have! - VM must be doing work!

Post up your Hub stats!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
422 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Thanks lotharmat

The BQM since the start has shown been spiky with latency exceeding the top of the graph multiple times a day. Can you see prior day BQM's or only today? 

Hub stats - part 1

Cable Modem Status   
ItemStatusComments   
Cable Modem StatusOnlineDOCSIS 3.1   
Primary downstream channelLockedSC-QAM   
Channel OverviewDownstreamUpstream   
DOCSIS 3.0 channels314   
DOCSIS 3.1 channels10   
      
      
3.0 Downstream channels    
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
9203000000640.946209QAM2569
11390000005.900040.366287QAM2561
21470000005.900040.366287QAM2562
31550000005.900040.366287QAM2563
41630000005.600040.366287QAM2564
51710000005.200040.946209QAM2565
61790000005.500040.366287QAM2566
71870000006.000040.366287QAM2567
81950000005.800040.366287QAM2568
102110000005.800040.366287QAM25610
112190000006.100040.366287QAM25611
122270000006.200040.366287QAM25612
132350000006.300040.366287QAM25613
142430000006.700040.946209QAM25614
152510000006.100040.366287QAM25615
162590000006.000040.366287QAM25616
172670000005.900040.366287QAM25617
182750000006.100040.946209QAM25618
192830000006.700040.366287QAM25619
202910000006.100040.366287QAM25620
212990000005.800040.366287QAM25621
223070000005.800040.366287QAM25622
233150000005.900040.946209QAM25623
243230000007.000040.366287QAM25624
253310000007.500040.946209QAM25625
263390000007.100040.946209QAM25626
273470000007.400040.366287QAM25627
283550000006.800040.946209QAM25628
293630000007.100040.366287QAM25629
303710000007.400040.946209QAM25630
313790000006.800040.366287QAM25631
      
      
3.0 Downstream channels    
ChannelLock StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
9Locked40.94620900 
1Locked40.36628700 
2Locked40.36628700 
3Locked40.36628700 
4Locked40.36628700 
5Locked40.94620900 
6Locked40.36628700 
7Locked40.36628700 
8Locked40.36628700 
10Locked40.36628700 
11Locked40.36628700 
12Locked40.36628700 
13Locked40.36628700 
14Locked40.94620900 
15Locked40.36628700 
16Locked40.36628700 
17Locked40.36628700 
18Locked40.94620900 
19Locked40.36628700 
20Locked40.36628700 
21Locked40.36628700 
22Locked40.36628700 
23Locked40.94620900 
24Locked40.36628700 
25Locked40.94620900 
26Locked40.94620900 
27Locked40.36628700 
28Locked40.94620900 
29Locked40.36628700 
30Locked40.94620900 
31Locked40.36628700 
0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
419 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Hub Stats Part 2

3.1 Downstream channels     
ChannelChannel Width (MHz)FFT TypeNumber of Active SubcarriersModulation (Active Profile)First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
41964K1880QAM4096759
      
      
      
3.1 Downstream channels     
Channel IDLock StatusRxMER Data (dB)PLC Power (dBmV)Correcteds (Active Profile)Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
41Locked439.757321303
      
      
3.0 Upstream channels    
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
13940000043.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
24620000043.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
36030000044.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM1
45370000044.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM2
      
3.0 Upstream channels     
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0020
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0010
      
      
General Configuration     
Network accessTRUE    
Maximum Number of CPEs1    
Baseline PrivacyTRUE    
DOCSIS Mode3.1    
Config filecmreg-vmdg640-bbt076-b.cm   
      
Primary Downstream Service Flow    
SFID48   
Max Traffic Rate1200000450   
Max Traffic Burst42600    
Min Traffic Rate0    
      
      
Primary Upstream Service Flow    
SFID47    
Max Traffic Rate55000270    
Max Traffic Burst42600    
Min Traffic Rate47    
Max Concatenated Burst55000270    
Scheduling Type42600    
      
      

 

I have collated several set of Hub stats over the last 1 month. I often see Pre RS Errors but not Post RS Errors. I often see T3 errors

 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.66K
  • 247
  • 680
Community elder
414 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

PreRS errors are fine - It is the PostRS and 'Uncorrecteds' for the 3.1 channel that are more concerning!
]
T3s are pretty normal - if a handful between reboots - it is if they start climbing rapidly there is a problem!

I can only see the current BQM - to show others you can get the 'direct link' of the one you want to share and paste it up on here.

The only thing that really stands out to my eye is the pretty high power level on the 3.1 channel -now this may be fine. Others with much more experience would be better placed to comment / rule out!

A few people have their BQM live graph in their signature for quick access which is handy



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
387 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Some BQM graphs as each day there are multiple high latency spikes.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/5f7726307254ac2f657481a83c22849a64843bed-14-09-2021
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/e407eb1b975128e4cd4df968c0807438c7bee23b-13-09-2021
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/0c3f01a9e869f847742bb74276775ce14127be08-10-09-2021
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/c2ecfb252a6f4f54b8e6d7c7938a5b0ae004669a-09-09-2021

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/6837e575f468961ed04dce82fb1702e971ccb7b9-04-09-2021

 

And the spikes go on

Which leaves me with a puzzle.

The speed into the Hub is wildly variable and often sub 500 Mbps. 

The speed out of the Hub, over an Ethernet cable, is nowhere near the promised service speed. 

The speed out of the Hub, over WiFi, is so variable it makes no sense.  Internet connections drop, WhatsApp phone calls drop, work zoom calls drop.... 

Questions:

  1. Is there an unusual high power level on 3.1 and, if so, is it important?
  2. What makes speeds over an ethernet connection so far from the promised land?
  3. Is the only way to get decent WiFi by purchasing our own router. Before I spend that cash is there anything wrong with the Hub itself?

Thanks everyone      

 

0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
346 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

This morning SamKnows says "no router found" Unable to measure speed on the virgin approved device

On the BQM there is a latency spike around 8am, 12 pm, 4pm and 8pm etc most days often to the top of the the graph. And spiky latency at other times but not as predictable

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 29.13K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.27K
Forum Team
Forum Team
283 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Hi AmMin, 

Thanks for coming back to us here and apologies to hear that things haven't improved at all. 

Taking a look at the Hub itself, things aren't looking to bad. There are a few downstream channels that the levels are a little too high but there are borderline. Before we can continue to with diagnostics, these need to be adjusted so they are at an optimal level. 

We won't be able to fix this remotely so I would like to arrange for an engineer to come to take a look at this for you. I just need to confirm the address to ensure we are booking the visit on the correct account. 


I have sent you a private message regarding this. Just click on the little plum envelope at the top right hand side of the page to access your inbox.


Thanks,

Kath_F
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
AmMin
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
251 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 1Gbps not delivering

Hello Kath,

I have sent you my details via PM and look forward to another engineer visit.

I would like some clarity on what is going on. My reply is quite long and will cover several pages.

Here’s some context

I took the Hub 4 with 1 Gbps when Virgin promised me the speeds would be va-va-voom and everything would work seamlessly. It doesn’t. I have spent too many hours reading through these fora when I should be doing other things like building my business or relaxing with my family. The first engineer replaced some connections, said everything was fine, split the WiFi into 2.4 and 5 GHz. Perhaps the title to this post should have read “Less Va-Va-Voom and More Slo-Slo-Slow”.

Virgin has not fixed known Hub 4 flaws. There is an .ax vs .ac compatibility issue (also known as WiFi 6 vs WiFi 5) especially if your computer, like mine, has Intel Killer AX WiFi drivers. Virgin is unwilling to acknowledge the issue even though it has been written about on multiple forums including Virgin, other PC OEMs as well as Intel.  The Hub 4 modem/router provided is not fit for purpose; the PODS do not improve WiFi and, after multiple resets, it comes down to Virgin being unable or unwilling to guarantee a WiFi speed or even a WiFi connection even when your device is within a meter of the Hub 4. I now understand, but find it hard to accept, that I need to spend more cash on a tri-band WiFi 6 given the design flaws of the Virgin Hub 4 but before I put the Hub 4 into modem mode I need to make sure it is working properly

  • Speeds into the Hub consistently falling below the minimum speed guarantee
  • Speeds out of the Hub over an ethernet connection nowhere near the 1G
  • Latency spike
  • Uncorrectables increasing each day on the 3.1 downstream

I am now going to post and share each topic so we can hopefully resolve everything in one go and before I spend more of my money on Netgear or similar.  

0 Kudos
Reply