Menu
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
632 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Hi there, am new here. Signed up to Virgin Broadband six months ago when we moved to new house. Wifi kept dropping out but thought it was due to the thick walls! However it;s now unbrearable and happens whilst right next to the router. Having done some research and now logged into the router, i can see lots of 'critical' and 'error' messages as follows:

Time Priority Description

30/03/2021 07:26:9noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2021 06:48:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/03/2021 18:57:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/03/2021 00:19:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/03/2021 07:13:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2021 14:20:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/03/2021 19:13:42ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/03/2021 05:30:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/03/2021 20:02:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/03/2021 13:49:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/03/2021 11:06:38noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/03/2021 05:25:23ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/03/2021 15:05:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/03/2021 02:17:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/03/2021 19:32:48ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2021 00:15:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2021 00:06:15criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2021 00:04:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Ethernet cable for WFH works just fine.

Can anyone advise? I previoulsy tried splitting out the 2.4 & 5ghz channels which wasn;t much better. And ringing customer services was a waste of time. All recorded messages and pressing the keypad before being told they would restart the router, which I have done many times!

Do i need an engineer visit?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.48K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
600 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

You wont like hearing this but... I think that... as ethernet connections are all fine then you need to sort the wifi issues for yourself.

To address this, VM now supply “wifi pods” (not “boosters”). These are free to customers on the 1GB or Ultimate Oomph packages, and so are worth trying if you are on one of those. There are stock supply issues at the moment though.

Otherwise, you will be charged £5/month - and at that level of investment you would soon pay off that cost by buying a "better" wireless solution that will be yours to own and use forever

Get either a…
(1) Mesh System, (2) Wireless router, (3) Wireless access point (4) A combination of (2) & (3).

I did that ~20 years ago and have never had an ISP related wifi problem.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
588 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Thanks so much for taking the time to message.

So am i right in thinking you don't think there is anything wrong with the hardware/router/connection? But rather something to do with router positioning/ability to cover the house and this causes the error/critical messages? Forgive my limited knowledge but why would it drop out when i am in the same room as the router?

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
574 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Do all wifi devices lose their connection at the same time?

One or two with a sporadic connection may be normal (pain in the neck but normal - the WiFi part of the Hub 3 is naff)

But if all devices lose WiFi at the same time - There's likely a problem with the Hub!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
565 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Thanks for replying. It tends  to be all at the same time, or at least several devices at once. 

Are the critical and warning notifications on the network log not of concern even if it were only one device? 

 

Many thanks 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.48K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
542 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

You logs are normal.

Copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page again. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
520 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Thanks again.

Info copied here as suggested, hope it copies as you need:

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1202750000840256 qam9
21387500007.838256 qam1
31467500008.540256 qam2
41547500008.640256 qam3
51627500008.540256 qam4
61707500008.840256 qam5
71787500008.540256 qam6
81867500008.540256 qam7
91947500008.340256 qam8
102107500007.840256 qam10
112187500007.540256 qam11
122267500007.440256 qam12
132347500006.940256 qam13
14242750000740256 qam14
152507500006.940256 qam15
162587500006.940256 qam16
172667500006.940256 qam17
182747500006.640256 qam18
192827500006.840256 qam19
202907500006.540256 qam20
212987500006.838256 qam21
223067500006.940256 qam22
233147500006.540256 qam23
243227500006.940256 qam24

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9570
2Locked38.91600
3Locked40.31270
4Locked40.31310
5Locked40.31060
6Locked40.3790
7Locked40.9790
8Locked40.3790
9Locked40.9540
10Locked40.3460
11Locked40.9330
12Locked40.3480
13Locked40.3390
14Locked40.3450
15Locked40.3460
16Locked40.3340
17Locked40.3320
18Locked40.3440
19Locked40.9290
20Locked40.3540
21Locked38.9280
22Locked40.3360
23Locked40.3420
24Locked40.9360

 

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000037.8512064 qam1
24620000036.3512064 qam2
33940000036512064 qam3
43260000035.5512064 qam4

 

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
519 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

And now the logs again

31/03/2021 09:38:7

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/03/2021 11:19:10

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/03/2021 07:26:9

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/03/2021 06:48:17

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/03/2021 18:57:59

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/03/2021 00:19:17

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/03/2021 07:13:43

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

22/03/2021 14:20:40

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/03/2021 19:13:42

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

19/03/2021 05:30:48

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/03/2021 20:02:2

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/03/2021 13:49:31

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/03/2021 11:06:38

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:38

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

14/03/2021 05:25:23

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/03/2021 15:05:1

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/03/2021 02:17:57

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:38

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

06/03/2021 19:32:48

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

05/03/2021 00:15:9

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.48K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
497 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Looks OK - time to sort your wifi connectivity methinks.

Just to check though has the Hub firmware updated overnight to

Software version : 9.1.1912.304

if not reboot the Hub.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
pajmaul
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
489 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 Wifi Drops

Thanks very much.

The hub is up to date! Sounds like a mesh system is required.

However, I set up the BQM last night, and so far the graph looks like this:

pajmaul_0-1617200453912.png

???

0 Kudos
Reply